Ren'Py Academy [a VN to teach you basic Ren'Py coding]

Ideas and games that are not yet publicly in production. This forum also contains the pre-2012 archives of the Works in Progress forum.
Kokoro Hane
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: 30 Kilowatt Hours Left, The Only One Girl { First Quarter }, An Encounter ~In The Rain~, A Piece of Sweetness, Since When Did I Have a Combat Butler?!, Piece by Piece, +many more
Projects: Fateful Encounter, Operation: Magic Hero
Organization: Tofu Sheets Visual
Deviantart: kokoro-hane
itch: tofu-sheets-visual

Ren'Py Academy [a VN to teach you basic Ren'Py coding]

#1 Post by Kokoro Hane »

This is an idea that's been sitting in my head for THE LONGEST time. I've worked on it a little, but it's far from being anything of use in these stages, and since there isn't much to it yet, that is why it's in the Ideas section for now until I get sine real progress.

Basically, the idea of the visual novel is for people to get used to Ren'Py programming. This is especially ideal for those who have no programming experience whatsoever (that used to be me; Ren'Py is what started me programming). You will learn about variables, strings, statements, how to implement code from the cookbook, and so forth. They will all happen in levels, and begin with just modifying some pre-made novels I did as an example (best way to learn is opening pre-made scripts to see how it functions!) and then go over making them from scratch!

To make it more fun, you can select to play a boy or a girl who is attending Ren'Py Academy. So there's somewhat a story going on, as you make friends, maybe enemies? The "class" segments is when you actually start learning stuff. I'll have everything divided in chapters and levels so you can learn at your own pace (go as fast or slow as you want). I'll even have the option to have "Story Mode Off" in case you want to get right to the learning and skip all that extra stuff.