Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#286 Post by jack_norton »

In theory yes, but in practice it would help more if the game didn't crash - besides, unless the grid is made of minuscule items (or transparent), you would still see that something is missing, but the end user wouldn't experience a crash. So I would like this change too if possible :)
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#287 Post by nyaatrap »

I'm wondering I should file this issue on gethub or not.
I noticed renpy.transition consumes huge CPU usage when it applies onto all layers. I tried supplying it to only "mater" or "screen", then it works fast and smooth. But if it's None (all layers), it spends 100% CPU usage in a flash (on my high-res game) and transition becomes abruptly.
So I think if renpy.with_statement and With statement on screens have layer argument, performance should be raised noticably.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#288 Post by PyTom »

nyaatrap, It shouldn't behave differently in those cases. Can you provide a testcase so I can (eventually) investigate?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#289 Post by nyaatrap »

game.zip
It's a dress up game made with screen language.
Buttons are shown on "screens", but background image is shown on "fg" layer.
On the line 334 in the scripts/inventory.rpy, there's a button which changes backround

Code: Select all

 textbutton i xfill True action [SetVariable("_current_bg", i), Function(renpy.transition,trans=Dissolve(.5), layer="fg")]
When this line is changed from layer="fg" to layer=None (or just use With(dissolve) instead), dissolve transition loses its smoothness on my machine when the game resolution is set to 1920x1200 (This game allows to change its resolution on the preferences screen).

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#290 Post by nyaatrap »

BTW, is there a future plan to use GPU in transitions (if possible)?
In a high-res game, transitions sometimes break playing ogg file - when a transition occurs in a screen with many widgets, I often hear an abrupt mute in music. I guess it's because of huge CPU burden.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#291 Post by PyTom »

Assuming you have GL support, transitions should take place mostly on the GPU.

Depending on what you're doing you might be having problems with screen updates. Have you read the new screen optimization documentation?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#292 Post by nyaatrap »

This transition problem also occurs in the tutorial game (6.18.3) when its screen resolution set high.
For example, set the tutorial game resolution:

Code: Select all

    config.screen_width = 2400
    config.screen_height = 1800
then start the game, right-click to show the game menu.
While I change screens between save/load/preferences, music abruptly muted and the transition lost its smoothness when config.intra_transition runs. I'm using windows7, 64bit, core i3.
In my game, I use 3 times options on the preferences, and even 1280x720 resolution has this issue.

mjshi
Regular
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:55 pm
Completed: MazeSite01, Ponderings of Time
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#293 Post by mjshi »

Small gripe: The image location picker in the development console.

Amazing, handy little tool, just wish that it would, well, autocopy the rectangle coordinates to my clipboard or something.

You have no idea how crazy it gets with the coordinates once you have too many hotspots...

Edit: Another thing, this time about lemmasoft... Is it possible to have one of those handy little "show/hide" buttons that collapse long blocks of code beautifully? xD

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#294 Post by nyaatrap »

Does anyone bothered music stuttering on image loading? Sometimes, music stops a few milliseconds when loading huge images (1280x1280~). I though it's just my PC issue. But even after I changed my PC to a recent core i5, the issue is still not fixed. I monitored CPU usage when stuttering occurs, but it's just 15%.

[edit] It looks this is 6.99 problem. Doing the same thing in 6.18 seems no problem (except screen transition I mentioned above. 6.18 has huge performance issue on screen transition but it's fixed in 6.99).

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#295 Post by PyTom »

What format image is causing the problem? Jpeg or PNG or something weird that I don't care much about?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#296 Post by nyaatrap »

Normal png images for LiveComposite sprite.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#297 Post by nyaatrap »

I just noticed music stuttering is occurred when I just left open my ren'py game and browsing internet. This is perhaps related to the issue jack norton mentioned. Though even I've been monitored CPU/Memory resources, I couldn't find anything weird.

User avatar
Corvo
Regular
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:42 pm
Deviantart: Corvocollorosso
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#298 Post by Corvo »

I don't know if I'm on the right place for posting this but there's a small typo in the Italian translation.
In templates/italian/game/tl/None/screens.rpy, line 137, now it's:
# game/screens.rpy:539
old "Save"
new "Salta"

The correct translation is:
# game/screens.rpy:539
old "Save"
new "Salva"
Attachments
screens.rpy
(2.6 KiB) Downloaded 54 times

User avatar
aqua.soo
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:27 am
Location: Korea
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#299 Post by aqua.soo »

I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that Ren'Py supported right-to-left (through config.rtl) languages.

One gripe I have about rtl is that, when selecting non-rtl languages like English, the say screen styles don't change to accomodate the different orientation. That is, when switching to English from an rtl language, all the say text are awkwardly right-aligned.

It's not too difficult to add some code to make this happen, but it would be nice if Language screen actions changed the xalign's by default.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#300 Post by PyTom »

While doing it automatically would be a good idea, I'm pretty sure it would break all the other customization. Rather than risk that, I leave it up to the game's creator to handle.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users