Naming things and World creation

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
rabcor
Regular
Projects: None (Need a programmer?)
Organization: Cestarian Games

Naming things and World creation

#1 Post by rabcor »

For convenience (TL:DR) i underlined the two most important lines in the thread to highlight what exactly i'm asking.

I'm relatively new to writing, it all seems to come to me surprisingly naturally though, so i'm not so worried that my first story will be a failure. As long as i stick to "writing what i know" that is (anything that isn't comedy is what i know). There is however one thing i seem to be absolutely awful at and always spend a lot of time on, problem is that i also have a hard time enjoying it and that is naming things. I often end up spending hours of just staring at my screen, surfing through name generators and mixing letters together in a random order till i find a name that has a decent and fitting ring to it. Since i'm making an rpg universe i decided to put naming themes on all the races to simplify this for myself (i.e. one race has japanese naming trends, another has norse naming trends, etc)

But i would appreciate any tips in how to find good names for all the characters, locations, monsters and items in my games.

The other problem i currently face is that i want to avoid any plot holes i possibly can, it irks me when i play something and i notice a plot hole so i'd like to avoid anything of the sort happening in my stories. To do that i wanted to build a good chunk of the universe lore before i start writing the story and then afterwards adding things in where convenient (for example i want the player to chance upon a ruined castle, i'll add it somewhere into the lore and give it a meaning before i create it in the game.)