Research tips about Japan.

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Funchal99

Research tips about Japan.

#1 Post by Funchal99 »

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I'm currently trying to write a sci-fi story heavily inspired by the Infinity Series of VNs and I/O that's set in Japan. To be more precise, in the near future of 2019.

Since I never lived or visited Japan, I'm having a bit of a hard time on developing the actual setting since, well...I have to research. Somethings are a bit easier to find, like how the education system of Japan works, the meaning behind the Kanji of certain names, stuff like that. And I'm not even counting how much I'm searching for articles online and pestering my knowledgeble friends about all the science part I plan to apply on the story (cosmology, quantum physics, psychology concepts that are mostly Jungian, that sort of thing).

But I'm on a bit of a predictment when it comes to a more subjective issue: basically, I wish to write a story that deals with the modern world, the rate at which information is being shared and processed and how that affects the younger generation. I basically want to write a story that deals on how much the modern world's society and technologies are making people (especially the younger) frustrated with their lives, their expectations, how it all causes uncertainty and anxiety and all that stuff about what defines our identity, how the world is predominantly harsh and cold, etc. But that involves, I believe, a bit of a deeper knowledge of Japanese society as a whole, and that's been a tricky topic to find just by typing on google.