Converting a Novella to a Visual Novel (Thoughts?)

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Zathura

Converting a Novella to a Visual Novel (Thoughts?)

#1 Post by Zathura »

Let me first say that I'm definitely more a writer than I am an artist. I would like to challenge myself to this month's NaNoRenO, in order to push myself to learn Ren'Py's programming language and syntax, while at the same time pushing my artistic boundaries to their maximum. Art aside...

How would you go about turning an already written story into a VN?

I'm not sure how often this comes up, because it seems that even in fan-fics, whatever story is being told has been written with a VN in mind.

In my case, I've already written and published (online, without pay, of course :P ) a novella, which I would like to turn into a VN, because not only does it mean something to me, but I think it would be an interesting story for people.

There's already a good deal of dialogue in the story as it stands, but as with most written pieces, it depends mostly on narrative. I'm thinking for a VN a good deal of this should be cut out, or rather, -shown-, via character interaction, rather than page after page of black -nvl-type screens.

Obviously, it's going to have to be adapted to the medium. The question would be, How?

I'm speaking in generalities, of course. So, for the sake of discussion, if you were going to take a short-story, novella, book, and make a VN based off it, how would you go about it?

Tempus
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Ladykiller in a Bind
Projects: StoryDevs
Tumblr: jakebowkett
Deviantart: jakebowkett
Github: jakebowkett

Re: Converting a Novella to a Visual Novel (Thoughts?)

#2 Post by Tempus »