Should I continue writing this?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
franny

Should I continue writing this?

#1 Post by franny »

Hello!

I'm new to all of this. I'm working on the first scene of my first attempt at a VN. I want it to be a coming of age story, with fantasy elements, though I still don't know what I'm going for exactly. I'm wondering if I'm doing things right. Help me catch mistakes, please, since as a non-native speaker, there are a few mistakes I don't notice even after proofreading. :\
It's still short, though. I wonder if it's good enough to continue.

Are my sentences awkward?
Is the scene boring?
Is the scene not suitable for a first scene? Does it make the reader want more? Or is it bleh?
Does it make enough sense?
And slightly unrelated question. Regarding past tense of "shine", what's the difference between using "shined" and "shone"?

(ki: Kira, female character, ku: Kurt, male character)

ki "Hurry!"
I pushed past the tall grass on the way to Red Rock. I glanced back at Kurt. "We'll miss it! Come on!"

The moon-peak was nearing. Already, I could feel the air growing lighter, colder. In the distance, the lake shined.

ki "C'mon!"

I sprinted through the wide field, to the looming Red Rock. My feet kept sinking into the soil.

The grass gave way to fine gravel, and the ground sloped sharply upward. The flag marking the base of Red Rock stood by the tight path up.

I kicked off my shoes. Above was a ramp of stone, covered in slick moss. I got on my hands and knees and scrambled up.

ku "Be careful!"

ki "No time to be careful!"

Past it, slabs of rock were stacked like crude stairs. Moss grew in patches now, and I decided to run. The wind picked up. I leapt three slabs in a row, leaving Kurt behind. I glanced at the horizon. A blurry haze enveloped the roofs of the nearby town, giving everything a soft glow. A feeling of calm enveloped me, and I closed my eyes, letting the wind blow against me.