Critique My Short Story

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Kawaiicy

Critique My Short Story

#1 Post by Kawaiicy »

Hello fellow writers! I'm new to VN writing but I want somebody to review/critique my writing style, so I wrote a short story that anyone is free to comment on. Specifically, I'm looking for peer review on my style. Thank you, and happy holidays! :]

Short Story: How I Met Her
By: Kawaiicy

“When I was little, I thought love was like in the stories.”

“Princes and princesses, true love at first sight, happy-ever-after, that kind of stuff.”

“Of course, people grow up, and my fantasies did too. Well, in a way.”

“You know that stereotypical anime scene where the protagonist and the obvious love interest crash into each other? Like, physically? That’s what I wanted it to be like when I met ‘her’.”

“It could have been a cute girl falling into my lap on a plane. Or a nice collision of bicycles where we ended up sprawled out on the grass. I wouldn’t have been unhappy with waking up to find a naked cutie in my bed.”

“…”

“I met ‘her’ at the beach. She was a blonde beauty. Saved my life in fact. I almost drowned that day. CPR isn’t the best first kiss, but it definitely wasn’t the last. Five years to the day, I married ‘her’, right on that beach. We lived happily ever after, laying side-by-side on the beach, listening to the ocean’s song.

“…”

“I met ‘her’ in the street. There she was, all by herself, playing a sad song on ‘her’ guitar. Every day I walked by ‘her’ to hear ‘her’ quiet and melancholy music, to try and catch a glimpse of ‘her’ night-black eyes under ‘her’ night-black hair, to feel my heart skip beats whenever she looked up at me. One day, I asked ‘her’ to marry me. I never saw ‘her’ again, but can still hear the strums of ‘her’ guitar in my sleep, and can see ‘her’ jet-black eyes whenever I look at the night sky.”

“…”