Ideas for minigames/puzzles?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Blake337

Ideas for minigames/puzzles?

#1 Post by Blake337 »

Hello everyone. I'm currently writing a suspense/sci-fi VN in which you investigate a deserted laboratory searching for the corpse of a scientist who mysteriously died. My idea is that you need to find several passwords to open a vault where he's trapped in (or his corpse, rather), and in order to get those passwords, I was thinking you might have to go into rooms that lock themselves, give you a sort of puzzle or minigame, and if you succeed you get the password for the main door and the room you're in unlocks.

The problem is, I have no idea what those puzzles could be. I was thinking about making them escape the room-like puzzles, but I have no experience with imagemaps and the such (although I could learn). Another problem might be that it could feel too similar to 999 (which I did draw inspiration from, but I don't want to make a crappy clone).

What other ideas can you think of, that involve some kind of gameplay? Think of something a sorta cruel scientist would do to screw intruders over, but is still doable if you know what you're doing.

Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810

Re: Ideas for minigames/puzzles?

#2 Post by Kia »

I can think of many games involve time, order, chance and many other element but I'm not sure how good is your coding skills so I'll mention few simple ones.
keypad with required code
finding the hidden object
pushing piano keys in correct order
decryption a message
plug devices together
keep something at a specific range (like heat)
catch/shoot something
combine things
I think anything can be turned to a puzzle...

Parataxis
Regular
Projects: Shadow City, Scribbles!
Tumblr: asktheprismguard

#3 Post by Parataxis »