Is there any tuts on creating music?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
Rinima
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: WtRF
Organization: Harmonic Dreams
IRC Nick: Rinima or Charlie
Deviantart: Emlindes

Is there any tuts on creating music?

#1 Post by Rinima »

I want to stay making some simple, yet mice tunes, but have no idea how (I've tried a couple of times in the past), and when I've gone on a quest for tuts for music creation, nothing has come up. Does anyone have any links ect one creating music?

p.s. I have basic music knowledge due to playing a instrument for 13 years.
Pronouns: They/them or He/him

LeetMusic
Veteran
Completed: Cursed Lands, Roommates, Wildfire: Ticket To Rock, Seeds Of Chaos
Projects: LeetStreet Boys, Paladin Dream, Murder Is Game Over

Re: Is there any tuts on creating music?

#2 Post by LeetMusic »

Music is such a diverse field that it's hard to offer advice on this. Nobody has the same path. I think learning to play piano or guitar is a solid first step. Then you might want to try recording, working with MIDI or piano roll interface composing software based on your preferences. Then mixing is a different skill set. But as I said there is no one method that works for everyone. The best maxim I've ever come across is "If it sounds good, it is good."

Good luck!

Aviala
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Your Royal Gayness, Love Bug, Lovingly Evil
Organization: Lizard Hazard Games
Tumblr: lizardhazardgames
itch: aviala

#3 Post by Aviala »

I'm a complete noob on this field but if you have an iPad, maybe you could try the garageband app? It's not the best music-making sofware out there but at least it's super easy to understand and use. I don't understand much about music but I still managed to create an okay-sounding VN bg music track with garageband. Trial and error was the way I did it.

This probably wasn't helpful but at least I tried. Good luck!

kisa
Veteran