Is it unacceptable to...

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
namastai
Projects: Currently undergoing.

Is it unacceptable to...

#1 Post by namastai »

Is it unacceptable to create background music with a chord progression that resembles a kpop song?
All the work is me 100 percent by ear. And I'd be willing to credit the song if I need to. There are no vocals or anything.

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

Re: Is it unacceptable to...

#2 Post by fleet »

namastai wrote:Is it unacceptable to create background music with a chord progression that resembles a kpop song?
All the work is me 100 percent by ear. And I'd be willing to credit the song if I need to. There are no vocals or anything.
I am not a lawyer. For legal advice where you live, consult an attorney.
If an ordinary person who knew the kpop song heard your song, and recognized the chord progression as being the same as that song, then no, don't use it.
The kpop song is copyrighted, and using copyrighted music typically requires paying a royalty. Giving credit to the song does not make it okay; unless the composer agreed to let you use it for free.
Some of my visual novels are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. They are NSFW
Poorly done hand-drawn art is still poorly done art. Be a Poser (or better yet, use DAZ Studio 3D) - dare to be different.

Tempus
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Ladykiller in a Bind
Projects: StoryDevs
Tumblr: jakebowkett
Deviantart: jakebowkett
Github: jakebowkett

#3 Post by Tempus »