Covering classical pieces

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
Labradorain
Projects: Rain Flavour, On the ivory key
Soundcloud: Labradorain

Covering classical pieces

#1 Post by Labradorain »

Hello.
I'm quite new to music making and haven't experience much in the work; on the other hand, I've played a number of visual novels, one of which is a free otome of a company and has two pieces of J.S. Bach covered as background music; therefore, currently I am wondering: Is it possible (and maybe legal in some way) to do the same for our games? I think the matter is different between a visual novel company and an individual, but this question can't be thrown out of my mind. In addition, I have an idea of having a scene when the character cover a piece of classical music in my visual novel. I also took a look of two topics of which questions are quite similar to this one, but was still unsure and confused... so the thought of making a topic about this greatly persuaded me.
Thank you for reading.

Tempus
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Ladykiller in a Bind
Projects: StoryDevs
Tumblr: jakebowkett
Deviantart: jakebowkett
Github: jakebowkett

Re: Covering classical pieces

#2 Post by Tempus »

If something is in the public domain it's okay to use it. However, a recording of a public domain composition isn't necessarily public domain itself. AFAIK anyway.
StoryDevs — easy-to-search profiles for VN devs (under construction!)

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

#3 Post by fleet »

I am not a lawyer. For legal advice consult an attorney where you live (copyright laws vary by country).

If you play an instrument, you may use your own recording of a J.S. Bach composition in your visual novel. If you have a friend who plays an instrument, and he/she makes a recording of a J.S. Bach composition and agrees to let you use it, you can use it in your visual novel.