Composing For Visual Novels as Opposed To...Everything Else

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
CaptainSecretFire

Composing For Visual Novels as Opposed To...Everything Else

#1 Post by CaptainSecretFire »

Greetings all! Pretty much a newbie here! I've just reached a kind of roadblock with my composing and thought I'd post my thoughts, in case anyone had encountered the same struggles.

Though I've written for visual novels before, I'm currently (and amatuerly) composing for them for the first time. So far I'm finding it's a lot harder to compose for certain moments, as the game is dictated by the player's reading speed. A slow building piece might never reach it's climax with a fast reader, whereas a cute happy loop could be annoying for someone slower. I'm finding it to be a difficult balance, conveying emotion in an open ended way like this. Without structure directly mirroring the story. You can play a piece at a specific time but actual moments within the piece I'm finding hard to convery without it sounding forced. Ughh.

Is this a common struggle? Am I coming at this the wrong way? I've only really composed for documentaries/short films/more linear games before so it's a real switch. Does anyone have advice or a different angle? Music is a very important part of any visual novel from my experience. How do you get it right? Big question haha, but I'm interested in discussion.

trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Projects: A Close Shave

Re: Composing For Visual Novels as Opposed To...Everything E

#2 Post by trooper6 »

I think you should think about leaving strongly functional and teleological Harmony behind and embrace a consonant, but less tonal and looser structured piece.
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10