Accents not showing in window title

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thebackup
Veteran
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:36 pm
Completed: Final Week, CardioQuiz, Cafe Memoria, All I Want for Christmas is a Girlfriend, Dating Sim! Re:Mastered, Dating Sim! Luna's Lovely Summer
Projects: Memoria (on hiatus), Cafe Memoria Deux (cancelled)
Organization: PixaelSoft
itch: thebackup
Location: Southern CA
Contact:

Accents not showing in window title

#1 Post by thebackup »

I have this:

Code: Select all

config.window_title = u"Café Memoria"
And I get an "e" with no accent:
no_accent.png
no_accent.png (4.93 KiB) Viewed 1164 times
So then I replace the "é" with "\xe9":

Code: Select all

config.window_title = u"Caf\xe9 Memoria"
And I still get the same result. I've tried it with other characters like "ü" and I get a "u" instead. Maybe it's a bug or am I doing something wrong? Thanks!

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3090
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#2 Post by Alex »

Does your font supports this characters? (just a guess...)

thebackup
Veteran
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:36 pm
Completed: Final Week, CardioQuiz, Cafe Memoria, All I Want for Christmas is a Girlfriend, Dating Sim! Re:Mastered, Dating Sim! Luna's Lovely Summer
Projects: Memoria (on hiatus), Cafe Memoria Deux (cancelled)
Organization: PixaelSoft
itch: thebackup
Location: Southern CA
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#3 Post by thebackup »

I'm pretty sure that the window font supports the characters, since the default UI window font in Windows 7 is Segoe UI (a unicode font).

It would be nice to hear from other users if accented windows work on their systems or not. Just to rule out any OS specific issues.

User avatar
xela
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2481
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:13 am
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#4 Post by xela »

I got as far as ? (No font?) instead of an e but it would require modding Ren'Py .
Like what we're doing? Support us at:
Image

User avatar
meiri
Regular
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:21 pm
Projects: Tutor Tabitha, Movement
Organization: Blue Bottlecap Games
Location: East Coast, US
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#5 Post by meiri »

Works for me.
works4me.png
works4me.png (5.89 KiB) Viewed 1102 times
I put this in options.rpy

Code: Select all

config.window_title = u"Café Memoria"
I'm running Windows Vista (Home Basic). So theres a possibility the Windows 7 window font just doesnt support that character.
What's in a loop? A loop iterated in any other way would output as sweet.
--
Have a look at my GxG kinetic novel, Movement, if you have the chance?

User avatar
Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:45 am
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question, To The Girl With Sunflowers
Projects: Slumberland
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#6 Post by Donmai »

Can confirm that in my Brazilian Portuguese Windows 7 the title appears without accents (and, in Portuguese, both words have accents: "Café Memória"). Yes, it seems the problem is the Windows 7 font.
Image
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

User avatar
Tayruu
Regular
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:57 pm

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#7 Post by Tayruu »

I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium and I can see the accent fine. It could be your system locale, or maybe even the encoding of your script file? Mine are always encoded in UTF-8 or UTF-8 without BOM.

User avatar
Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:45 am
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question, To The Girl With Sunflowers
Projects: Slumberland
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#8 Post by Donmai »

UTF-8 and system locale in my case, and no accents on the window title anyway.
Image
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

thebackup
Veteran
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:36 pm
Completed: Final Week, CardioQuiz, Cafe Memoria, All I Want for Christmas is a Girlfriend, Dating Sim! Re:Mastered, Dating Sim! Luna's Lovely Summer
Projects: Memoria (on hiatus), Cafe Memoria Deux (cancelled)
Organization: PixaelSoft
itch: thebackup
Location: Southern CA
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#9 Post by thebackup »

Okay, I think I figured it out.

I changed my system locale from Japanese to English (USA), and it works:
with_accent.png
with_accent.png (3.84 KiB) Viewed 1083 times
And I switched it back to Japanese and the problem occurred again.

Thing is, I don't want to switch back to English locale (I play quite a bit of Japanese games). Not sure if I can call it a bug within Ren'Py, but it would be nice if window title accents show correctly regardless of locale.

User avatar
Milkymalk
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 753
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 5:30 pm
Completed: Don't Look (AGS game)
Projects: KANPEKI! ★Perfect Play★
Organization: Crappy White Wings
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#10 Post by Milkymalk »

The Japanese locale is a little strange, I'm afraid you will have to live with it. When I use it, I get Yen signs instead of backslash \ in my file paths but it works fine.

I don't really see a problem here; you don't need the accents in the title as a developer, as long as the players have them while using a regular locale everything is fine, right?
Crappy White Wings (currently quite inactive)
Working on: KANPEKI!
(On Hold: New Eden, Imperial Sea, Pure Light)

Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Accents not showing in window title

#11 Post by Asceai »

I think this may actually be an SDL bug. Ren'Py seems to be doing the right thing and as far as I can tell PyGame is doing nothing wrong here.

In any case it seems to be fixed in SDL2, which Ren'Py will move to at some point. So just put in Café Memoria for now and accept the fact that some people won't get the diacritic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot]