Create my own tile and unit engine from scratch, pls help.

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Ryujin8

Create my own tile and unit engine from scratch, pls help.

#1 Post by Ryujin8 »

I am still very new with Ren'Py and I need some help.
How does one create a tile engine and unit engine from scratch, where do you start?
Are there any tutorials for creating a very basic engine for Ren'Py?

I have seen (http://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/doc/coo ... it_Engines) and I went through the tutorials, yet I don't even know in what .rpy file to put the data in. I guess it's script.rpy, I could be wrong.

I would like not to use engines already made apart from what came with Ren'Py itself.

Any help would be super-appreciated :)

xela
Lemma-Class Veteran

Re: Create my own tile and unit engine from scratch, pls hel

#2 Post by xela »

Are you asking about displaying graphics in renpy while you have knowledge of Python to write underlying logic? TileEngine is fairly difficult to build and close to impossible without prior experience in coding. You could take a look at Jake's BE and software called Tiled but even getting that to work requires some knowhow.
Like what we're doing? Support us at:

Ryujin8

#3 Post by Ryujin8 »

To answer your question, yes. I had a look at Jake's BE and it got me excited for what is possible. If only Python is needed, then incorporated I could just learn it then.
I also had a look at Tiled, thanx. That'll easy the workflow :)
I have worked quite a bit with Twine before so I'm up for the coding-learning-challenge.

xela
Lemma-Class Veteran

#4 Post by xela »