Two menu choices in one row?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
legulto
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:41 pm
Contact:

Two menu choices in one row?

#1 Post by legulto »

Hello,

How can I make two menu choices appear in one row?

I want make menu with 4 normal menu choices and fifth one with two choices in one row (something like "< back" and "next >")

Code: Select all

    menu:
        "Blah blah"
        
        "First choice":
            pass
        "Second choice":
            pass
        "Third choice":
            pass
        "Fourth choice":
            pass
        "< back":
            pass
        "next >":
            pass

SundownKid
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:50 pm
Completed: Icebound, Selenon Rising Ep. 1-2
Projects: Selenon Rising Ep. 3-4
Organization: Fastermind Games
Deviantart: sundownkid
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Two menu choices in one row?

#2 Post by SundownKid »

For that you kinda have to make a custom screen.

Something like:

Code: Select all

screen choices1:
    vbox:
        xalign 0.5
        yalign 0.5
        textbutton "Choice 1" action Jump('branch1')
        textbutton "Choice 2" action Jump('branch2')
        textbutton "Choice 3" action Jump('branch3')
        hbox:
            textbutton "Back" action Jump('branch_last')
            textbutton "Next" action Jump('branch_next')

label game:

    show screen choices1

philat
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Two menu choices in one row?

#3 Post by philat »

Would depend on how exactly you want the buttons to function. Creating a separate screen for each menu seems pretty onerous.

Try looking at this thread to see if you can figure out some way to generalize the function of the back/next buttons.

http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 38#p313338

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3096
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Two menu choices in one row?

#4 Post by Alex »

Check this thread - http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... =8&t=16914. It might give you an idea.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]