Transitions no longer working? [SOLVED]

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Cheratomo
Regular
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:36 pm
Completed: Asagao Academy: Normal Boots Club, Solstice, A Troll's Fairy Tale
Projects: [Game in Progress], A Year Abroad, Entrepreneur Simulator
Organization: Illus Seed
Tumblr: cheratomo
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Transitions no longer working? [SOLVED]

#1 Post by Cheratomo »

Hello!

Recently we had a programmer working on our game, and I updated the game to his build. For some reason, though, transitions are no longer working. So the commands for dissolve, fade, and move are all not working -- I'm not sure what to do?

I've checked the code and nothing seems to have really changed. The code I have for transitions is still:

Code: Select all

init:
    $ chara_dissolve = Dissolve(0.3)
    $ config.say_attribute_transition = chara_dissolve

    # Fades to black, then to the new scene.
    $ fade = Fade(0.8, 0, 0.8)
    
    # Dissolves between old and new scenes.
    $ dissolve = Dissolve(0.5)
Does anyone have any ideas for why this might not be working? :/
Last edited by Cheratomo on Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:45 am
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question, To The Girl With Sunflowers
Projects: Slumberland
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Transitions no longer working?

#2 Post by Donmai »

Two suggestions:
– When posting code, use CODE tags, not QUOTE :) ;
– Check your preferences screen. Look if transitions are disabled there (anyway, delete persistent data and restart the game).
Image
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

User avatar
Cheratomo
Regular
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:36 pm
Completed: Asagao Academy: Normal Boots Club, Solstice, A Troll's Fairy Tale
Projects: [Game in Progress], A Year Abroad, Entrepreneur Simulator
Organization: Illus Seed
Tumblr: cheratomo
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Transitions no longer working?

#3 Post by Cheratomo »

Thanks for pointing that out!

I added

Code: Select all

_preferences.transitions	= 2
and they're working again! :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]