Yes/No Promt glitch? [Solved]

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
XxrenxX
Veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:40 am
Projects: Chasing
Deviantart: bara-ettie
Location: Canada
Contact:

Yes/No Promt glitch? [Solved]

#1 Post by XxrenxX »

Simple just having an odd glitch show up and I can't figure out why.

Here's the code just in case but I'm unsure if it's related to that. Photo's attached:

My problem is just that my unhovered promt has extra parts that shouldn't be there. I have them set to semi-transparent so you can still see the game behind however that extra bit only goes away when i hover. I just can't figure out why it's doing that.

Code: Select all

screen yesno_prompt:
    
    modal True
        
    if message == layout.OVERWRITE_SAVE:
        imagemap:            
            ground "Menu/YN_OSave_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_OSave_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action
            
    if message == layout.DELETE_SAVE:
        imagemap:
            ground "Menu/YN_Delete_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_Delete_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action
        
    if message == layout.LOADING:
        imagemap:
            ground "Menu/YN_Load_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_Load_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action

    if message == layout.QUIT:
        imagemap:            
            ground "Menu/YN_Quit_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_Quit_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action
            
    if message == layout.MAIN_MENU:
        imagemap:
            ground "Menu/YN_MM_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_MM_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action
Attachments
YN_Quit_H.png
YN_Quit_I.png
Untitled-1.jpg
Last edited by XxrenxX on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

jayel
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Yes/No Promt glitch?

#2 Post by jayel »

It's the partial transparency on your Ground image. Deleting it took away the unwanted extra bits.

Try adding the partial transparency as it's own image, between the background and the image map when the yes/no prompt is called for. That might get the effect you want.

User avatar
XxrenxX
Veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:40 am
Projects: Chasing
Deviantart: bara-ettie
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Yes/No Promt glitch?

#3 Post by XxrenxX »

Alright I have it set as this now:

Code: Select all

if message == layout.QUIT:
        imagemap:            
            ground "Menu/YN_BackShade.png"
            idle "Menu/YN_Quit_I.png"
            hover "Menu/YN_Quit_H.png"
        
            hotspot (605,302,152,143) action yes_action
            hotspot (760,302,152,139) action no_action
But not the question part isn't showing but now it shows how I want it too generally.

User avatar
XxrenxX
Veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:40 am
Projects: Chasing
Deviantart: bara-ettie
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Yes/No Promt glitch?

#4 Post by XxrenxX »

Still not resolved.
Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3090
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Yes/No Promt glitch?

#5 Post by Alex »

You shouldn't use semitransparent images for imagemap at all - try to edit your images.
(also, delete persistent data)

User avatar
XxrenxX
Veteran
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:40 am
Projects: Chasing
Deviantart: bara-ettie
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Yes/No Promt glitch?

#6 Post by XxrenxX »

Yeah I know I shouldn't have semi-transparency especially for a menu screen but for me it just seems a little redundant to have a whole new screen just to answer a yes/no question haha. Thanks though =)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users