Nervous about making first game....

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
bunny-gypsy
Regular

Nervous about making first game....

#1 Post by bunny-gypsy »

Hello, there.

Just to give you some background (you can skip this if you want):
~~
I am a newbie to Visual Novels. My sister mentioned about them and mentioned something called Ren'py.
I was curious and checked out what visual novels were and downloaded several Ren'py-made VN's/Sims games and demos.

Even though I'm not an anime fan anymore (I was more into the older stuff, like the 90's stuff, for example, Sailor Moon, Yuu Yuu Hakusho, Dragon Ball Z, Pokemon, Digimon, etc), I really enjoyed many of the Ren'py games, especially the Simulation ones. :)

The types of games I usually like are adventure, action/adventure, some FPS, and especially Simulation games. I rarely like RPG's, except
for Mass Effect games. I LOVE Adventure and Simulation games. I also like the Choose Your Own Adventure stuff, too.

I especially like games that allow you to make choices, so I want to make that kind of game.

I enjoyed the various Ren'py games. (I discovered I don't like Kinetic Novels, though. I think I can read a manga or book or a comic book instead of taking up computer space with that kind of thing.)

I love how easy it is to learn to work with Ren'py. I already started some basic scripts as I go through the tutorials. :D
~~

Anyway, to get to the point, I have already a couple of ideas for a first game. I can't decide if I want to do a Visual Novel with multiple-paths, or if I should do a Simulation. I have already started learning through the beginning tutorials and will continue to learn the Ren'py program.

Either way, though, I am extremely nervous about making my first Ren'py game. I don't know if people would like my drawing, since I am kind of okay-ish at drawing.