Text Screens with flexible Speechbubble background?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
PrincessOstrich

Text Screens with flexible Speechbubble background?

#1 Post by PrincessOstrich »

Hi everyone. I'm very new to Renpy and I've started a project where I want to do a Visual Novel/Interactive Comic, so I probably will have to learn how much Renpy is customizable visually in that direction. I've started to program a scene with a background and panels over it and some slightly animated things in the panels (extremely simply done), which went well, but now I've hit my first roadblock. I'm very very bad at coding so please forgive my clumsy attempts do describe my problem.

I tried to do a Screen that is a speechbubble, which you could probably adjust with borders and scaling/tiling (according to the tutorial) and then put text in that. I'm assuming that I need to define that in the screens.rpy file first and it tried that by creating a new screen based on the say screen, but then the program got confused and just replaced all dialogue boxes with my speech bubble picture. Apparently I would need to define it as some different kind of screen from scratch, but I've got no idea what kind of screen or how. HELP.