Favorite Non-English Phrases

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
purple_pockets
Regular

Favorite Non-English Phrases

#1 Post by purple_pockets »

Ever since I started learning Spanish, I have come across some cool phrases. If you know any cool ones, please post it here!

No sé y no me importa
Translation:
I don't know and I don't care

I wish I could tell some of my teachers this next one

No me gusta escuchar a las maestros aburridos
Translation:
I don't like to listen to boring teachers.

p.s. If there are any greivous grammatical errors, please let me know and I will correct it. Thanks! :oops:

Rewritten Ennui
Veteran
Organization: TwinTurtle Games

Re: Favorite Non-English Phrases

#2 Post by Rewritten Ennui »

你的媽媽上大學! (Nǐde māmā shàng dàxué!)
Your mom goes to college!
我來了. (Wǒ láile.)
I came.
Of course, those phrases mean nothing in Chinese. It's sort of a joke among my classmates to ask our Chinese teacher how to translate English insults into Chinese. She'll say it, we all snicker like the immature little kids we are, and then she'll tell us that a native speaker wouldn't understand what's so funny about saying "your mom." Still, I shouted "Nǐde māmā!" at the Korean class during our foreign language baseball games. We lost anyways D:
I've swapped accounts to CheeryMoya, so this account is no longer in use. Refer to the new account if you want to contact me.

Twinturtle Games Website

Mink
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: Say You Love Me (Short Version), C!P (NaNo12), Lady Misfortune, NatH, W/K, MtF, SMQ, TBM, TMHK, LoC, MMDG
Projects: Stuff
Organization: Metal Orphans

#3 Post by Mink »

Stercus accidit, which is (apparently) Latin for
'shit happens.'
My friend knew how to say, "I'm having a party in my pants and you're invited" in French, but I can't remember how to say it. D:
"I will send a fully armed battalion to remind you of my love."