What was the first visual novel you played?

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Reikun
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Mnemonic Devices, Ciikos Bridge, Helena's Flowers, The Madness
Projects: Fox in the Hollyhocks
Organization: skyharborr
itch: skyharborr

What was the first visual novel you played?

#1 Post by Reikun »

Hi! I've only played four visual novels before (3 being made with Ren'Py) so I'm pretty new to the whole scene?

I was wondering what people's first VNs were and how they got into making VNs themselves *U*

My first VN was Hatoful Boyfriend xD
I wanted to make visual novels after I played it since I'm pretty useless at comics and animation, so I thought that VNs would be a good middle media for telling stories with art.

I'm interested to hear about others' first experiences with visual novels ^^
ImageImageImage

fastest way to contact me: DM @skyharborr on twitter

teacup
Holder of Tasty Drinks
Completed: (P)lanets - the life of normalcy has ended
Projects: Circum[N]avigate

Re: What was the first visual novel you played?

#2 Post by teacup »

My first was Narcissu about 5 years ago.
I didn't even know what a VN was at the time and the whole time I played it, I was thinking "I don't know what this is... but I like it!" XD
The first VN I played while knowing what a VN was was Hourglass of Summer, because a local anime store was selling physical copies of it.
Even though the VN isn't that good looking back on it now, it was one of the games that inspired me to make my own. ^^

SusanTheCat
Miko-Class Veteran

#3 Post by SusanTheCat »

I think technically it was the "Pick up Artist" section of Bar Games. It would have been about 20 years ago.

http://www.myabandonware.com/game/bar-games-ll

Susan
" It's not at all important to get it right the first time. It's vitally important to get it right the last time. "
— Andrew Hunt and David Thomas