Foreign Languages

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Destiny
Veteran
Projects: Cards of Destiny, Sky Eye

Foreign Languages

#1 Post by Destiny »

Well, I was on Youtube again and found a interesting channel (called AlexandJim) where two guys compare Germany and USA.
And they had the topic about foreign languages where it became obvious that germans learn at least two foreign languages while Americans MAYBE learn one (seemingly mainly spanish).

So I would love to know:
What languages do you speak (or had learned once at least)? And where do you live (just to compare) :3

I for myself live in Germany.
So my main language is german. But my early childhood (till I aged 6) was in Belgium, so I learned dutch as a child, too.
I started learning english in my 5th grade (and I know, they start now with between 3rd grade or even kindergarden), I learned french in 7th grade, spanish in 11th grade and I started to learn japanese when I began university.
Makes a total of 5 languages (even though I'm no longer able to even understand french and spanish since they never really caught my interest :'D) learned up till now (and I'm only 23 yet).
If time and possibilities allow it then I would love to learn french again. I also find Zulu a very interesting language (hint: it's the language the lion king opening is sung in xD)

Skill level:
german: 5/5
dutch 3/4 (hearing is perfect, reading 4/5, speaking 3-4/5 and writing...kinda hopeless xD)
English 3-4/5 (I understand it perfectly and about 90% of my freetime consists of listening, reading or speaking english [Thank you, internet. Thank you, exchange students :D], so I guess, I'm quite good for a non-native speaker)
french 0-1/5
spanish 0-1/5 (Me no hablo espanol :'D)
japanese 1-3/5 (reading/hearing is 3, the rest is 1)
Last edited by Destiny on Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:37 am, edited 1 time in total.