Visual Novels on Steam, recommendations?

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Dizzard

Visual Novels on Steam, recommendations?

#1 Post by Dizzard »

I wouldn't say I'm totally new to Visual Novels. Although my favourites tend to have either gameplay elements or choices to make. (or both)

I've played the Ace Attorney games, the Dangan Ronpa games and the Zero Escape games. While I do love those games (they're among my favourite games ever, Ace Attorney is my number one game series) I've been a bit lost when it comes to playing visual novels on my laptop. I've downloaded a few demos of some visual novels but they don't really grab me that well. It seems like the kind of Visual Novels I like might be few and far between.

I should say that I don't really tend to like Anime that's overly cliche (contrived might be a better way of putting it since it's not usually the cliches that bother me but the sense that they're relying on them too much) or filled with fanservice. I'm also not really interested in dating sims. (although some romance is fine, just not the main focus) I also love plenty of twists and suspense. That's probably why the above games appeal to me so much since I find them to be really creative, have really exciting/interesting plotlines and have really likeable characters.

So my question is, are there any visual novels on Steam (or if not on Steam, at least available somewhere in English) that you could recommend that would fall in line with my tastes? (I realize the pool of options is probably really small but I figure this is where the experts are. :p)

SinaAzad
Veteran
IRC Nick: SinaAzad
Deviantart: sinaazad
Soundcloud: Sina_Azad

Re: Visual Novels on Steam, recommendations?

#2 Post by SinaAzad »