Conciliating your professionnal life with your game project

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Ostrogradski

Conciliating your professionnal life with your game project

#1 Post by Ostrogradski »

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie here, I actually just created my account so first of all : nice to meet you all! I hope we can get along well! :)

I had an idea for years and years for a game but never got to do it. Recently, an event in my life finally allowed me to go into the realisation of that game that's been haunting me for so many years and I have to say I have never been so happy to be involved in something.

I have however a real dilemma. I have been able to work on my game because I was on a leave from work but I will probably have to get back to work at some point and I have no idea how to conciliate my work life with the making of my game. I was wondering if some people would be kind enough to share their experience regarding that issue.

Thank you all!

Valhalla
Regular

Re: Conciliating your professionnal life with your game proj

#2 Post by Valhalla »

I think it's a lot about enjoyment. For me, working on VNs is a hobby I enjoy doing in my spare time. If I didn't enjoy it, I don't think I'd be able to give up so much of my free time to it.

I also think it is important to rest, especially if you are working full time. There are weeks I feel so burnt out I have to take a step back and just spend a day vegging out. When it starts to feel like a chore I can't put my heart into it.

The real trial for me is not getting sidetracked. I try to set reasonable goals I know I can achieve, i.e. Write and edit one scene a day, finish one GUI screen etc.

That's my take on it, although I'm also interested to see if other people have good tips.
Image Image Image

Mammon
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Pervert&Yandere, Stalker&Yandere