Question about Works in Progress Thread

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
DreamingHearts
Projects: Dreaming Hearts
Deviantart: orionfantasy

Question about Works in Progress Thread

#1 Post by DreamingHearts »

Hello everyone,

I am sorry if this is in the wrong thread to post this or if someone else has already asked this but I do have a question regarding the Works in Progress thread.

I am planning on doing a fundraising platform once I get further in my game but I read that we need to have a demo of sorts to include it in the forum. I was wondering what if we need the fundraising platform to pay for the artwork that is needed in the game (sprites, backgrounds, CGs)? I am a writer so I have a hired an artist to do the artwork but in order for the artwork creation to start, I need to pay the artist. So I feel like this is kind of a catch 22 for me...

Any advice given would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

Re: Question about Works in Progress Thread

#2 Post by fleet »

You don't have enough money to pay the artist for a short demo?
Use creative commons art or hand drawn stick figures for the demo, and state that you'll be using a paid professional artist for the final project. Pay him for at least one sprite, background , or CG so you can show a sample of the 'final' artwork.
Some of my visual novels are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. They are NSFW
Poorly done hand-drawn art is still poorly done art. Be a Poser (or better yet, use DAZ Studio 3D) - dare to be different.

runadial
Regular
Completed: My Only Sunshine
Projects: CrossDol (BL), Forsaken
Organization: astellic

Re: Question about Works in Progress Thread

#3 Post by runadial »