Expectations of convention vs. narrative

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Zurafel

Expectations of convention vs. narrative

#1 Post by Zurafel »

I'm new to visual novels. I'm creating an otome, or at least I think that's the genre it fits in. I know otomes usually have all male love interests, and although my game is 50/50 male and female romance options, exploring the story with the romances is still the point of the game, and for that reason it will probably appeal to women more than men? (If anyone could tell me what category that is, I'd appreciate it.)

My main question is, how upsetting would it be to players to have one of the romance routes end in near total bloodshed? I'm talking "everyone dies except the MC and her love interest." Every beloved side character and every friend along with the antagonists. From a narrative standpoint, I think it's what's best for the story. Actually, it's crucial. It isn't just pathos for the sake of pathos. Still, despite having a happily-ever-after ending with the romance, or as happy as one can get after that experience, I know that's a grim path to take. The other routes in the game are more conventional: there is conflict, clear-cut villains, some loss, but the MC can protect almost everything and everyone important to her, and they conclude with a clear sense of victory. In this bloody route, it's a series of lows and highs riddled with doubt, sympathetic villains, near total loss, and wondering if the outcome was worth the cost.

I'm concerned that people that like that particular love interest will feel disappointed or angry that their "husbando's" route is the only one so tragic and different from the other routes, that they'll get to the end and assume they got the bad ending, and try to go back to see what they need to do to get the "good" one.