3D Graphics and Daz3d

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
dennissaton

3D Graphics and Daz3d

#1 Post by dennissaton »

I am working on my first Graphic Novel.
I have heard that you can make(render) graphics using DAZ3D.
I have never done anything like that before. Daz3D sell pre-made clothes and bodies etc

If I were to purchase some of those items how much should I expect to pay someone to put it together for me
or is this something that I who have no training and no knowledge could do myself.

If I am not asking the right question please Excuse me, I am very new too this and I am not even sure what I should be asking.

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

Re: 3D Graphics and Daz3d

#2 Post by fleet »

You can probably do it yourself, but it will take time. I've been using DAZ3d to make visual novels since 2010, and I still don't consider myself really good at it.
If you already have DAZ, you can download the free interactive lesson "Slaying the Dragon" bundle Link ->https://www.daz3d.com/slaying-the-dragon-bundle.
It includes characters and clothing and takes you step by step through the process of building a scene and rendering it.

Having said that, if your intention is to make a visual novel (versus a graphic novel), many people won't play a visual novel made with 3D graphics, unless the pictures are edited to the point where they look like they were hand-drawn. Examples of what I mean are works by donmai. Search the lemmasoft forums for examples of 3D images he's made to resemble hand-made drawings.

Some people might not read your post because it has the words "3D Graphics" in the subject. :(

I wish you success.
Some of my visual novels are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. They are NSFW
Poorly done hand-drawn art is still poorly done art. Be a Poser (or better yet, use DAZ Studio 3D) - dare to be different.

Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran