A few questions about copyright...

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
Argeus_the_Paladin
Veteran
Projects: Rzeczpospolita Polska 1647

A few questions about copyright...

#1 Post by Argeus_the_Paladin »

So, I am new to the Ren'Py engine, and already I am hooked. I've been working quite hard over the last few days on my first project, "Polska 1647", and enjoyed every minute of it.

However, I have one question I would like to ask regarding copyright. Since the subject of my project was very much nonfiction (i.e. Alternate History - how the Polish Deluge and the fall of the Rzeczpozpolita could have been averted or made worse), I have been using a lot of internet resources - pictures and portraits, for instance.

What are the odds that such use will get me into trouble if I try to distribute my work as freeware once (or rather, if) it's done?

Thanks for your help!
One Province Minor - 120 class variables and still counting!

Because there is no such thing as too many variables.

rioka
Royal Manga Tutor
Completed: Amgine Park, Garden Society: Kykuit, Metropolitan Blues (art)

Re: A few questions about copyright...

#2 Post by rioka »

I don't think you would have a problem if you were making it for freeware as most people are okay with it but generally speaking, it is polite to ask for permission to use the images (and songs if you are considering that in the future). Portraits, you may run into problems as they are true images of real-life people. Unless they've been dead a very long time (like Shakespeare long) or are public figures, I wouldn't use them. Can you draw or know someone who can draw? Or can you at least manipulate the portraits in Photoshop or other graphic software? You can filter the images so it's a bit more obscure or artistic. That can blur the lines a bit on usage.

Argeus_the_Paladin
Veteran
Projects: Rzeczpospolita Polska 1647