Brainstorming - RPG

Ideas and games that are not yet publicly in production. This forum also contains the pre-2012 archives of the Works in Progress forum.
papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames

Brainstorming - RPG

#1 Post by papillon »

As an insane game developer, I never have just ONE idea being plotted... I usually have sketches and designs for at least a handful of games, any one of which I may eventually pick up and run with.

One of them is an SLG/RPG, for which I have many detailed ideas about gameplay, but pretty crappy ideas about story.

(Please don't post anything if you will be upset if your ideas are used in one of my games - or if you will be upset if your ideas are NOT used! This is just all to get my mind going.)

The game is set in a not-too-advanced town. The PC is from another town and has just traveled there. This is the seat of the kingdom and there is a castle - you will meet the king, queen, and prince at various events during the game. You will also discover that there *was* a princess - but she was somehow tragically lost/stolen a few years ago.

There is also a very convenient multi-level dungeon right by the town that the player gets to go monster-hunting in.

So, the story questions are...

Why is there a dungeon full of monsters right next to the town? Did it just mysteriously appear one day? Why hasn't anyone done anything about it? Has it been there for a while? Why doesn't the town LEAVE? Who really wants their seat of power to be right next to a monster-infested ruin? What reason can I come up with for there being a big dangerous dungeon so close by?