A new Mystery game

Ideas and games that are not yet publicly in production. This forum also contains the pre-2012 archives of the Works in Progress forum.
Marcelo_Orlando
Veteran
Completed: Case of the missing bracelet, Case of the mysterious stalker
Projects: Horror/fantasy
Organization: Kaboyashi Square

A new Mystery game

#1 Post by Marcelo_Orlando »

Hello, I'm new here and I'm also new to VN being that I haven't played more than 5 titles. Although completely different from the games I'm used to playing, VN style is based more on story that on action or puzzles and that in itself was interesting, although that could be a perception case. After playing these fascinating games and soon coming upon Ren'ai I decided to give it a try. I decided to make a mystery game since I'm a big fan of mystery in movies, games, and books. I won't attempt to make the 'standard" mystery game, where you're not really solving the mystery rather than it on folds in front of you or as the story continues. I'd like to try a different style putting the player in complete control of the investigation. They will be given complete authority to look into the case as they see fit and it will be up to them to piece together the puzzle and solve the case. As I said before I haven't played many VN games so I don't know if mystery games are big or if this style has been used or not. I'm working on the demo as I speak and I hope to be finished soon. This demo, however, is only a test and has very little to do with the game as I am using this to test my theory and to learn the Ren'ai engine. If this demo is successful I will begin working on the game project using all of the information acquired from the demo and user feedback. I appreciate your corporation and I hope to deliver a game that everyone can enjoy. :idea:

x__sinister
Regular
Projects: Modus Operandi, Grim

Re: A new Mystery game

#2 Post by x__sinister »

How far along are you into the script?
Do you have anything down?