Battle System Programmer Needed!!!

Ideas and games that are not yet publicly in production. This forum also contains the pre-2012 archives of the Works in Progress forum.
Thaius
Regular

Battle System Programmer Needed!!!

#1 Post by Thaius »

Here's the deal, basically. I've seen that turn-based battle systems are possible in Ren'Py. I want to learn how this works so I can create my own, but I do not have time for that right now.

I am in a Writing for Mass Media class at a university right now. We have a semester project, which is supposed to be done in groups. Unfortunately, I am apparently the only gamer in the class, so I am the only one making a game.

Of course I cannot do this alone, so I have friends helping me in various ways. Unfortunately, I am a beginner at coding for Ren'Py and cannot make the battle system I want out of it. I have studied up on how to make them, but haven't found an actual tutorial for it and can only understand bits and pieces of battle code I've found.

Now comes the part where I ask for your help. If you understand the coding for making a turn-based battle system (attacking, magic, etc., and of course the HUD to display HP and MP levels), I need your help. For copyright reasons (for lack of a better term, lol), I'll give the specifics of the conceptualized battle system to those who show interest.

I am making the rest of the game, but I need help with this aspect of it. I am not planning to sell the game, but of course if I make any future projects I will keep your name in mind, and if future projects sell I would of course give a cut. Thank you for your time: let me know if you are interested.

Re: Battle System Programmer Needed!!!

#2 Post by Guest »

Quick question: Are you making a deliberate choice not to use pygame? Because I've heard of frameworks that allow both to be used in the creation of a single program.