Advice for Art?

Use this forum to help develop your game-making skills, and get feedback on writing, art, music, or anything else you've created that isn't attached to a game in progress.
Honey.Yellow

Advice for Art?

#1 Post by Honey.Yellow »

Hi there! :3 I'm an artist aspiring to do some art for a VN or otome game one day. Could you please tell me what you think about my art, and what I need to improve on? I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

This image is something I doodled in class. It's somewhat like a character reference sheet. Sorry, I know the pencil marks are quite light. Any suggestions for a name?
Last edited by Honey.Yellow on Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ren

Re: Honey.Yellow's Art

#2 Post by Ren »

It's really hard to say, from just one page of sketches.

One thing I notice is that you seem to have drawn the girl always facing left - I know it's hard at first, but I'd try different angles and orientations for the head.
Pay attention to anatomical problems; while manga-inspired art can take some liberties, stuff like the neck being too much on the left in the full figure and the scarce attention put into drawing the feet can detract from your drawing.
I don't know if it's my monitor, but I find it hard to see the lines at all - perhaps you need to play with levels in your drawing program so that the lines are a bit more visible?

Just practice and do what you have fun doing, you'll eventually get better.

Honey.Yellow

#3 Post by Honey.Yellow »

Ren wrote:It's really hard to say, from just one page of sketches.

One thing I notice is that you seem to have drawn the girl always facing left - I know it's hard at first, but I'd try different angles and orientations for the head.
Pay attention to anatomical problems; while manga-inspired art can take some liberties, stuff like the neck being too much on the left in the full figure and the scarce attention put into drawing the feet can detract from your drawing.