Sprite Process Work

Use this forum to help develop your game-making skills, and get feedback on writing, art, music, or anything else you've created that isn't attached to a game in progress.
Youngster Joey
Projects: MetaGame, Turnip in Love (colour artist)

Sprite Process Work

#1 Post by Youngster Joey »

I didn't really see a thread for this, but ummm...
I was just wondering how everyone else went about making sprites for their visual novels. This is my first time working on a visual novel on my own, and when it comes to sprites, I think working on so many layers is making me nervous, hahaha!
So I'm just interested in hearing your techniques, and I'll share mine. And uhh... Hopefully we'll all learn something?
Process Work.png
Okay, so this is what I'm working on right now. I'm making folders for different characters, just so I can keep them apart. I should probably be working on different characters on different canvases, but my sketch had all of them in one spot, so I just left them as is.
First thing I do, I do do lineart for the body, which doesn't have any facial characteristics other than the nose, just because... I want to be able to change those things later on, and I don't know if noses move around much. Then on several other layers, I make various different facial expressions (These ones are the ones titled things like Face 1 and Face 2). This part I'm kind of worried about. Should I make layers for individual facial characteristics, or should I make layers for individual expressions? Anyone have any input?
Also, hair goes over that because hair covers faces...
Umm... right now they're kind of lacking clothes, because I want to be able to make sprites that can be versatile in terms of appearance.
My sprites are kind of short. Umm... Would this be a problem?

Sorry if that was really rambly or if it didn't make sense. But I'm really interested in how you guys make your sprites as well! I'm not sure if the way I'm doing it is really efficient so...