Ren'Py to E-Book converter

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
C_Classic
Projects: http://renpy2ebook.sourceforge.net/

Ren'Py to E-Book converter

#1 Post by C_Classic »

Hello everyone,

I have an Amazon Kindle E-Book-Reader and a few days ago I thought about reading Visual Novels on it. Of course it would lack a few features such as music and effects, but the basic things like images and text should work.

Therefore I started programming a converter from Ren'Py to pdf. I will switch to epub later. My current version is able to convert quite simple VNs. As an example, I converted Yandere-Chan. If you want to take a look, you can download it here: For e-book-readers or for PC.

For those of you, who are interested in playing with the software, you can download the sourcecode on bitbucket.

A quick list of the current features:
  • * Converts spoken text and thoughts
    * Converts images
    * Converts decisions using "menu"
    * Output-Format: pdf (via latex)
Is there any interest in such a program or do you think this project is useless?

Regards,
Markus

Sapphi
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: Boku no Taisetsu na Yumeko
Projects: Twelve, PAW ★ PRINTS
Organization: Kitsch-soft

Re: Ren'Py to E-Book converter

#2 Post by Sapphi »

C_Classic wrote: Is there any interest in such a program or do you think such a project is useless?