RPMT

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
ErogamiDear

RPMT

#1 Post by ErogamiDear »

I need your help on this issue (sorry me if I'm wrong, I'm a good programmer but a completely newbie in the ren'py community) Ren'py don't have a package manager, so the user needs to manually import and manage their plugins and templates on ren'py. And that's a big problem! Think like a non-programmer user trying to import multiple packages in a single ren'py project. It's very hard to mix them together or copying them every time you start a new project. It's also hard to add new ren'py statements (for use in a high level rpy script) and to implement things without modify the renpy core itself (another time, sorry me if i'm wrong).
I'm studying the ren'py documentation and source, and have a long list of projects to do in this program. If you have any question about how works a package manager (i hope not) you can study a lot of managers implemented in other python programs (for ex. Blender, Inkscape or Python itself. That's what free software is made for!). But here is a few tips:
- Set a standard packages folder (fex: renpy/custom_module)
- Make sure to register all modules at some point when renpy start.
- A 'import' or 'plug' statement is needed to use it in rpc scripts. (fex: plug aileen)
- A piece of code to check duplicate statements definitions in custom modules (easy, right?)
- And a tool in the launcher to manage and search updates for the installed modules.
And that's all. Working with packages erases the need to modify ren'py itself. So you can work safely in the core while the community works in plug-ins and a lot of more functionality for ren'py.
See you.

xavimat
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: Yeshua, Jesus Life, Cops&Robbers
Projects: Fear&Love
Organization: Pilgrim Creations
Github: xavi-mat
itch: pilgrimcreations
Discord: xavimat

Re: RPMT

#2 Post by xavimat »