[Renpy] Force recompile error

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Allentum
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:42 am
Contact:

[Renpy] Force recompile error

#1 Post by Allentum » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:55 am

Hi,
I've a problem with a very simple custom screen : when I run the game I've no problem but when I force recompile or try to make a build I've an error ("quick_menu is not defined" - see traceback.txt).
I've tried to put my custom screen at the end of screens.rpy but without success (same behaviour...)

When I comment the line which calls my custom screen, problem disappears...

Attached a zip with just what is needed to produce this problem...

Any idea?
I use latest version of Renpy (7.3.5.606)

Thanks

Allentum
Test custom screen.7z
Minimal "game" producing problem
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 5 times

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: [Renpy] Force recompile error

#2 Post by PyTom » Fri May 01, 2020 4:20 pm

I'm not able to repeat this. Which line is the custom screen?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Allentum
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: [Renpy] Force recompile error

#3 Post by Allentum » Fri May 01, 2020 6:14 pm

In screens.rpy it's line 83 (see pic below) - Current version is "screen custom_quit:" but I've tried "screen custom_quit():" with exactly the same result
Custom screen.JPG
This screen is "showed" only 1 time in quitmenu.rpy (see pic below)
quitmenu_rpy.JPG

I'm pretty sure there was a renpy version which worked (no error during build) but I can't remember which one... :roll:

Thanks

Allentum

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2985
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: [Renpy] Force recompile error

#4 Post by Imperf3kt » Fri May 01, 2020 7:23 pm

I've found that sometimes force recompile (and delete persistent) will fail if you have errors in your script. You need to find and fix those first.
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Twitter
Imperf3kt Blackjack - a WIP blackjack game for Android made using Ren'Py
Free Android GUI - Updated occasionally

Allentum
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: [Renpy] Force recompile error

#5 Post by Allentum » Sun May 03, 2020 6:55 am

Thanks for your idea but I can't spot any error in this (very simple) script which runs perfectly...
I would like something as simple as that! :)

Regards

Allentum

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2985
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: [Renpy] Force recompile error

#6 Post by Imperf3kt » Sun May 03, 2020 7:50 am

In my case, when I come across it, it's normally a missing ) or : on a screen or something.
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Twitter
Imperf3kt Blackjack - a WIP blackjack game for Android made using Ren'Py
Free Android GUI - Updated occasionally

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users