[BUG] using a transform on the master layer breaks all instances of MoveTransition()

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
BattleProgrammer
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 11:13 am
Contact:

[BUG] using a transform on the master layer breaks all instances of MoveTransition()

#1 Post by BattleProgrammer »

Description:
As soon as "renpy.show_layer_at()" or "show layer master at [...]" is called for the master, every instance of MoveTransition() breaks. So move, moveinleft etc. all instantly jump to the target destination, but the text still waits for the time_delay.

Expectation:
The images still move as usual, smoothly, no instant jumps.

Result:
The image instantly jumps to the target location, while the text waits for the time the animation is supposed to run.

Example and steps to reproduce:

Code: Select all

transform pan_to_left:
  zoom 1.1
  ypos -50
  xpos 0

label test:

  #default scene
  scene black

  #the following movein works as intended
  show test_image at center with moveinleft

  #pans the camera to the left, bg and sprites included (master layer)
  $ renpy.show_layer_at(pan_to_left, reset=False)
  #the above line causes the bug - no move will work until another scene change

  #small break so we can see things are happening
  "..."
  
  #attempt at another move - but the image just jumps to the target immediatly
  hide test_image with moveoutright

  "..."

  return
I opened up this issue on github as well, but I don't know which platform is the correct one. I apologize if I posted somewhere wrong.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: [BUG] using a transform on the master layer breaks all instances of MoveTransition()

#2 Post by PyTom »

Github is probably the place to watch. It's a hard problem to fix, so It might wait for a bit.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

BattleProgrammer
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: [BUG] using a transform on the master layer breaks all instances of MoveTransition()

#3 Post by BattleProgrammer »

Alright, thanks for the feedback. There's a small workaround, so I'm not too worried. You're doing gods work, man. Much appreciated.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users