Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
Jo'ogn
Veteran
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:31 pm
Projects: Kassiopeia [iVN]
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

double zoom?

#241 Post by Jo'ogn » Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:41 pm

I have an ATL image which I want to move out to the left with a dissolve. Since "moveoutleft" with its 0.5 seconds moves too fast, I ended up using an ATL transform. However it appears that using show twice also applies the "zoom of 0.5" in the image twice as well, (which is why I added a "zoom 1.0" to the transform).

- is this intended?

- This also rises the question why can't I just use the transform with a hide?

- and if this is a proper way of doing that, should I still hide the (now off screen) "ATL Sprite" afterwards?

Code: Select all

    image Andromeda verunsichert:
        zoom .5 xcenter .55 ycenter .35 
        contains:
            "Char.An/An.003a.gif" with blende
            pause warte
            ...
            repeat        
        contains:
            contains Andromeda_verunsichert_Augen
~
    show Andromeda verunsichert with dissolve
~
    show Andromeda:
        subpixel True
        zoom 1.
        alpha 1.
        parallel:
            ease 3. alpha .0
        parallel:
            easeout 3. xcenter -.1
Audio Plays: [original] The White Feathers Directive - [Star Wars] Through Flame and Shadow
Ren'Py: Kassiopeia [very interactive VN] work in progress - looking for proof reader english

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#242 Post by nyaatrap » Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:14 am

Some minor issues on the screen language.

1. "widget default True" doesn't get focused when a screen is showing over another screen. For example,

Code: Select all

screen yesno_prompt:
  textbutton "yes" action yes_action default True
This button doesn't get focused when it's used as a Save/Load confirmation.

2. When I unhovered a button with tt.Action, a widget which has "default True" get focused in a flash.

Code: Select all

screen preferences:
  default tt=Tooltip("")

    textbutton "Window" default True

    textbutton "English" hovered tt.Action("set language Englsih")

  text tt.value
When I hovered "English" and unhovered it, the "Window" button becomes hover status in a flash.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#243 Post by nyaatrap » Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:03 am

I was looking up what eroge gamers want on preferences. I found many users want the following preferences which ren'py doesn't have yet, and I also would like to have.

1.When auto forward should be toggled while auto forwarding:
・When a player pressed one of any buttons.
・When a player clicked only the "auto" button again.

2.When voice should be muted:
・When a player pressed one of any buttons, or the game is advanced onto the next interaction
・Only when the next voice starts playing.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#244 Post by PyTom » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:36 am

Can you file an enhancment bug on those two features? I can certainly make them available as Preferences, although I'm not sure they'd be commonly used enough to merit a place on the default preferences screen.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
akakyouryuu
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#245 Post by akakyouryuu » Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:48 pm

The second has been already implemented. This is available by Preference("voice sustain", "toggle").

User avatar
akakyouryuu
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#246 Post by akakyouryuu » Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:09 pm

Maybe, No1 is almost only used in H scenes. This isn't commonly used, why don't you only make it available as Preferences, but don't place it on the default preferences screen?

madbunnie13
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#247 Post by madbunnie13 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:10 am

http://wiki.libsdl.org/MigrationGuide#Input

The lastest sdl2.0 has included unicode input intergration which supports IME.

I did look into the source code for Renpy but got confusing really quick (@_@ I'm not a python expert)
From my understanding renpy is based on Pygame, and pygame didn't update to sdl2.0, therefore it would create problems updating Renpy to sdl2.0...?
But I just wanted to check with Renpy developer to make sure, if it's not too much trouble can we please have the IME support?

Madbunny

User avatar
noeinan
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1126
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:10 pm
Projects: Ren'Py QuickStart, Crimson Rue
Organization: Statistically Unlikely Games
Deviantart: noeinan
Github: noeinan
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#248 Post by noeinan » Mon Feb 10, 2014 1:36 am

Dunno if someone has already mentioned this, but there is a small problem with using kind=centered when declaring characters. http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... =8&t=25130

Apparently "centered" is defined in an init 1400 block, so if you try to use "centered" before the start label to define your character it won't work. There is a workaround-- just define your character in an init 9999 block, thus this is more of a gripe than a bug.
Image

Image
Image

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#249 Post by PyTom » Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:19 pm

madbunnie13 wrote:From my understanding renpy is based on Pygame, and pygame didn't update to sdl2.0, therefore it would create problems updating Renpy to sdl2.0...?
I'd like to port to SDL 2 soonish, but I'm still working out how to do it.
daikiraikimi wrote:Apparently "centered" is defined in an init 1400 block, so if you try to use "centered" before the start label to define your character it won't work. There is a workaround-- just define your character in an init 9999 block, thus this is more of a gripe than a bug.
You can also define your own "centered" character, and Ren'Py will respect that.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#250 Post by Asceai » Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:22 am

Imagemaps and imagebuttons with 'auto' don't work with non-filename displayables.

i.e. you can have:

Code: Select all

imagebutton auto "test_%s.png" action NullAction()
but you can't have

Code: Select all

image test_idle = "0.png"
image test_hover = "1.png"
imagebutton auto "test_%s" action NullAction()
I'm not sure why this is, but it seems arbitrary, considering

Code: Select all

image test_idle = "0.png"
image test_hover = "1.png"
imagebutton idle "test_idle" hover "test_hover" action NullAction()
is perfectly legal (and necessary for things like animated buttons)

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#251 Post by jack_norton » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:15 am

A minor thing but I think would be cool if was possible to exclude some configuration files from the renpy webupdater? for example today after updating I couldn't build anymore on Android.
I found out the problem was that the update reset the config file:
local.properties
in rapt directory. I had a previous rapt backup so I was able to retrieve the values, but I can imagine many less expert user having headaches for such things :)
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#252 Post by PyTom » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:18 am

!!! local.properties should not be included. If it is, that's a huge problem.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#253 Post by jack_norton » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am

Well, I'm pretty sure was that :) I build Roommates for Android to test, and worked (installed SDK, etc).
Then today wanted to test another game, but before I checked and found an update, and updated it. Then tried to build for Android and failed on codesign, saying that "No key.store and key.alias properties found in build.properties". But I didn't touch that file, so my guess is that was the update?
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#254 Post by PyTom » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:40 am

Yeah. That's a major problem, but I've released 6.17.1 to fix it.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#255 Post by nyaatrap » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:27 am

config.enter_start_transition

I think there's no transition between main_menu and start label.
There's a way to imitate this so not a problem, but it'd better to have it in default.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users