Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
Amie
Regular
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:48 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#466 Post by Amie »

In-game when you click the middle mouse button (or wheel) it removes the dialogue box etc, so you can view the image on screen clearly, that's cool, but when you click again to bring the dialogue box back, often the side images will not reappear.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#467 Post by PyTom »

That's odd. Can you put together an example of this for me?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Amie
Regular
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:48 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#468 Post by Amie »

Hi PyTom, thanks for the reply, I've actually worked out how to recreate it, it's the code from the documentation (to transition side images smoothly).

Code: Select all

transform same_transform(old, new):
    old
    new with Dissolve(0.2, alpha=True)

define config.side_image_same_transform = same_transform
If the code above is incorporated in a project, that's when the issue happens.

mcroddy
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:47 pm
Projects: One Hell of a Week
Github: mcroddy
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#469 Post by mcroddy »

The official Ren'Py page for Image Galleries (https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/rooms.ht ... ery.Action) doesn't have mention of the style ="empty" portion of the make_button function. Since this ensures that the entire area of the button in the CG gallery works properly to transition to the CG image, it may be worth adding to the documentation in some form. For example:

Code: Select all

add g.make_button("gallery_button", "testbutton.png", xalign=0.5, yalign=0.5)
makes it so that only the top portion of the button can be pressed. However:

Code: Select all

add g.make_button("gallery_button", "testbutton.png", style="empty", xalign=0.5, yalign=0.5, locked=False)
fixes this error. If this error is prone to happen for other projects, hopefully it would be useful.
Thank you for the help.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#470 Post by PyTom »

I fixed that this morning.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
mitoky
Veteran
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:12 pm
Projects: The Purring Demon's Love, circus eterie
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#471 Post by mitoky »

I have noticed that the label "before_main_menu" doenst clears itself when entering the main menu screen and stays behind the main menu content. I dont know if this is normal or not, but when you return from in-game to the main menu the content too doenst stays so i "think" it might be unintended.

renpycoder
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#472 Post by renpycoder »

I made a small thread about this one, but inasmuch as I love RenPy, my big gripe is the encryption of assets. Is there a way to do that?

thebackup
Veteran
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:36 pm
Completed: Final Week, CardioQuiz, Cafe Memoria, All I Want for Christmas is a Girlfriend, Dating Sim! Re:Mastered, Dating Sim! Luna's Lovely Summer
Projects: Memoria (on hiatus), Cafe Memoria Deux (cancelled)
Organization: PixaelSoft
itch: thebackup
Location: Southern CA
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#473 Post by thebackup »

It'd be nice if the "window hide" statement has an option to affect overlay screens, not just the dialogue window. Because it just doesn't look right if you hide the window and have any UI stuff left in the overlays (like the quick menu, and any custom stuff like a date box). I have to resort to doing this and it's very inconvenient:

Code: Select all

$suppress_overlay = True
window hide dissolve

# stuff here...

$suppress_overlay = False
window auto
I had to dig through the Ren'Py code to even find there's a "suppress_overlay" variable.

Shiron
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#474 Post by Shiron »

I have mention it here – viewtopic.php?f=32&t=52551, but if you put too much choices into the choice screen, it overflows.

My current solution is this:

Code: Select all

screen choice(items):
    style_prefix "choice"

    viewport id "choices":
        draggable True
        mousewheel "change"
        area (234, 0, 812, 535)

        vbox:
            for i in items:
                textbutton i.caption action i.action
I believe that making something similar an official part of screens.rpy would increase the flexibility a bit, but there is a problem with this particular code.

It seems that viewport have always align set as (0.0, 0.0). You can't change it no matter what you do.

I guess it's a bit more complicated in this case, but any finite solution would be fine.

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3784
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#475 Post by Imperf3kt »

Lately it seems that when building Android versions, renpy rebuilds all the previous versions as well, to the point I end up with a GB of files for a 30Mb Android .apk

I also just encountered a strange issue where trying to build a different project, names the .apk based on the other project and upon installing to an Android phone, fails with an error about jpeg decoding or some such.
Works fine in the emulator and the original project, but the second project fails despite being essentially a copy of the first prohe t except in a different aspect ratio. It's almost as if renpy is getting confused when building it.


Would be nice if renpy didn't generate the x86_64 builds unless specified to do so. Also, clearing rapt/bin after copying the files to the distribution directory
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1037
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#476 Post by Kia »

can we have an abbreviated version of "SetScreenVariable" and "ToggleScreenVariable" on the side please, I've been using them frequently and the are a hassle to type and spell check
something like "ssv()", "ssVar()", or even "ssVariable()" would work wonders.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#477 Post by PyTom »

kia>>>

You can easily do that yourself.

Code: Select all

define ssv = SetScreenVariable
etc.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1037
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#478 Post by Kia »

sweet, I'm going to downsize every action then, thank you ^_^

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1037
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#479 Post by Kia »

I couldn't find a way to change default position for show also xsize and ysize doesn't effect sliders in preferences that kept my mind wondering. may I ask for your input on those problem please?

User avatar
SONTSE
Regular
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:49 pm
Completed: 11 VN's so far
Discord: jkx0282_10798
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#480 Post by SONTSE »

Made some silly mouth animation.

Code: Select all

default preferences.text_cps = 200
image talking_mouth:
    'talking_mouth_1'
    1/preferences.text_cps    
    'talking_mouth_2'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_3'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_4'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_5'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_6'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_7'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    'talking_mouth_8'
    1/preferences.text_cps
    repeat    

label main_menu:
    return
label start:
    show talking_mouth:
        align(.5,.5)
    pause
    return

and it returned an exception

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

Executing ATL code at game/script.rpy:19
  File "game/script.rpy", line 27, in script
  File "renpy/common/000statements.rpy", line 416, in execute_pause
    renpy.pause()
Exception: ATL appears to be in an infinite loop.
Lol whut ? :lol: I mean, sure it is infinitely looped, so what? ATL entities are often looped, what's the point to even detect it?
Oh dear...
My workaround.

Code: Select all

default preferences.text_cps = 200
image talking_mouth:
    .0000001
    'talking_mouth_1'
    1/preferences.text_cps    
    'talking_mouth_2'
    1/preferences.text_cps
        (........and so on)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users