Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#406 Post by nyaatrap »

PyTom wrote:nyaatrap>>> We're 64 bit on Mac and Linux already. I'm not sure what 64-bit on windows would give us - are you running out of memory?
I'm using windows 10 64bit. When I run a RPG I programmed, it crashed around 1~1.5GB RAM usage. So I made 700~800MB usage game, but I'm still getting error reports of out of memory error from users who played the RPG.
Actually, out of memory error is one of the most fluent error to me. Using ren'py is as if fighting against out of memory error.

[edit]I guess Out of memory error is somewhat incorrect, since it appears beneath 1GB RAM usage.

User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3712
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#407 Post by trooper6 »

Would it be possible to have a focus_mask that applies to the displayable of a Drag for the purpose of drop detection?
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#408 Post by PyTom »

Not easily. (I guess it could be possible, but frankly, I don't think that drag-drop is used enough to justify the amount of special-purpose work that would need to be done.)
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3712
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#409 Post by trooper6 »

PyTom wrote:Not easily. (I guess it could be possible, but frankly, I don't think that drag-drop is used enough to justify the amount of special-purpose work that would need to be done.)
No worries! Just wondering!
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#410 Post by nyaatrap »

Can screen statement 'key' take a list? I always have to code two lines like the following, even it's a simple one key function:

Code: Select all

for i in ["a","A", "repeat_a", "repeat_A"]:
   key i action DO

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#411 Post by nyaatrap »

Can textbutton take key statement like normal button?

Code: Select all

button key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This works
textbutton "name" key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This doesn't work

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#412 Post by PyTom »

The answer is - not easily. This is a problem, but I need to find a good way of fixing it. (Imagebutton has the same problem - which is that the statement itself implies what it's children should be.)
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
xela
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2481
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:13 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#413 Post by xela »

Code: Select all

xoffset - int

    Gives a number of pixels that are added to the horizontal position computed using xpos and xalign.

yoffset - int

    Gives a number of pixels that are added to the vertical position computed using ypos and yalign.
Any chance of this becoming "offset" with two int values like padding/margin have with .11? This remains sort of "half" implemented, a thing as a transform properties and throws errors in screens + not a thing in style docs.
Like what we're doing? Support us at:
Image

User avatar
ketskari
Veteran
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:22 pm
Completed: Asher, Sunrise, Tell a Demon
Projects: Asher Remake, TEoA
Organization: Sun Labyrinth
Tumblr: sunlabyrinth
Deviantart: sunlabyrinth
itch: sunlabyrinth
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#414 Post by ketskari »

Papagayo (open source lip syncing software) support? Just being able to assign phonemes to dialogue text would be great, even if audio syncing isn't perfect. The other option for someone with limited coding skills seems to be making custom animations for each line of dialogue:

Code: Select all

image tet OEWQ:
    "tet/O.png"
    .2
    "tet/E.png"
    .4
    "tet/etc.png"
    .4
    "tet/WQ.png"
    .2
    "tet/etc.png"
    1.5
...for hundreds of lines.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#415 Post by PyTom »

I've added offset to the todo list. I'll consider papagayo support, but I'd need someone to make a half-dozen or so lip-synced lines.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

AXYPB
Regular
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:04 am
Github: AXYPB
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#416 Post by AXYPB »

nyaatrap wrote:Can textbutton take key statement like normal button?

Code: Select all

button key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This works
textbutton "name" key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This doesn't work
I'd like to see similar support for other screen elements, for example, allow mouseup_2 to reset a bar value to a default.

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3090
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#417 Post by Alex »

When I've pressed the "Install SDK ..." button, it downloaded SDK, but didn't created the "extras" folder at all... So I had to run "SDK Manager.exe" and download it manually. Is it ok or is this a problem with my os?

Also, the name of folder wasn't "play_apk_expansion" but "market_apk_expansion", so I had to rename it as well (it also was stated here - viewtopic.php?f=8&t=38014&hilit=play_apk#p411518). Could this be fixed?
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'D:\\renpy-6.99.9-sdk\\rapt\\android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library/project.properties'

Windows-XP-5.1.2600-SP3
Ren'Py 6.99.10.1227
Ren'Py Launcher 6.99.10.1227

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#418 Post by jack_norton »

My major gripe with Ren'Py right now is the fact that on every update, the Android setup gets lost. You need to do "install SDK & Create Keys" even if you have just done it. I probably have downloaded the SDK at least 5-6 times since beginning of year :)
I am talking of course about updating Ren'Py with the auto-updater itself. If you download a new version on a new folder, it's normal that the Android SDK is not recognized.
Not sure of course how easy/hard would be to autodetect if the SDK is already downloaded and unpacked in the current renpy folder, but it would be a very welcome feature :)
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

maricore
Regular
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#419 Post by maricore »

this isn't exactly a bug but... i just have one small request.
can you add a gallery button as a default with renpy?
because adding a gallery button code is SO MUCH PAIN
and I'm sure if people who doesn't want it, they would just delete the scrips in screens.rpy, we will be able to customize it with image maps like we do with everything else.
can you include that in the next version of renpy? I will be so grateful.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#420 Post by nyaatrap »

I think the galley class need to be rewritten somehow before merging it.
Because its syntax is far from the screen language, and it requires to manually type all images to assign even they're already assigned by image folder.

(I personally don't use the gallery class, because Its code is visually ugly with no indentation.)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users