Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16093
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#376 Post by PyTom »

papillon>>>

I just added renpy.music.get_pos()

Vaendryl>>>

I decided the right way of doing this is to make you play two things. You could do:

Code: Select all

play sound [ "<silence .3>", "earth_shattering_kaboom.ogg" ]
To play .3s of silence, followed by a sound.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Lyonsbanner
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 2:11 pm
Tumblr: Lyonsbanner
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#377 Post by Lyonsbanner »

Hello.

I don't know if this is exactly the right section for a "gripe", but at last I try...

The problem is quite simple, when I create a string array with words that contain accents, my project does not start. When I click on "Check Script (Lint)" I've got this error : "Launching the project failed".

The problem don't occur when I wrote after the "label start:" something like :

Code: Select all

narrator "C'est le mois de Février" # (It's February).
I solve the problem by changing the encoding to "UTF-8". But it took me time to figure it out. I didn't expect it was something so trivial.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#378 Post by nyaatrap »

It's a not big matter, but can the hide statement take at clause?
show sprite at hiding_transform
hide sprite
takes two lines.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16093
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#379 Post by PyTom »

I believe it already can, can't it?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#380 Post by nyaatrap »

it doesn't throw an error, but on hide statement doesn't work on the following code. A transform defined in center is used on hide statement.

Code: Select all

transform hide_transform:
    on hide:
        ********

label:
    show sprite at center #this transform is used when hide
    pause
    hide sprite at hide_transform #this transform is ignored

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#381 Post by Kia »

is it possible to have an additional "unhover" button state in ATL please?
after making a button that comes from one side when hovered, stays at the middle then goes to another side when unhovered, it became a huge chunk of clumsy code and made me think it would be useful if we could make it like:

Code: Select all

transform keys:
    on idle:
        linear 0.4 xalign 0.0
    on hover:
        linear 0.4 xalign 0.5
    on unhover:
        linear 0.4 xalign 1.0
(I'm sure there are better ways to use it) this way the button goes to "unhover" state before going back to the "idle"
2131.png
2131.png (5.93 KiB) Viewed 1468 times
what do you think?
Edit: after a bit of thinking I realized something like:

Code: Select all

transform coo:
    on idle:
        linear 0.4 xalign 1.0
        linear 0.4 xalign 0.0
    on hover:
        linear 0.4 xalign 0.5
does the same thing... it's not that elegant though...

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#382 Post by nyaatrap »

Really just a small matter and small gripe...
screen: on "show"
transform: on show
....I failed 100 times on this inconstancy.

User avatar
KnotUntied
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:36 am
Projects: Acheron
IRC Nick: Knot
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#383 Post by KnotUntied »

I don't know if this has been addressed, or if this is the wrong place, but I'm (a teeny-tiny bit) upset over Ren'Py not able to use vector formats for images.

I can name one reason to use such, and that is the construction of ornamented text. Sure, raster graphics is always a strong option, but it has some problems.
I don't always make something, but when I do, I never fini

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16093
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#384 Post by PyTom »

What do you mean by "ornamented text"? Isn't that the sort of thing you use fonts for?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#385 Post by Kia »

I think he means those colored vector graphics that come in eps or svg format
Screenshot_1.png
now I'm here, is there any chance we can have skew in transformations?
Screenshot_2.png

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#386 Post by jack_norton »

There's support for bitmap fonts with mudgefont, I used it in some of my older games :)
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
KnotUntied
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:36 am
Projects: Acheron
IRC Nick: Knot
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#387 Post by KnotUntied »

PyTom wrote:What do you mean by "ornamented text"? Isn't that the sort of thing you use fonts for?
I would, but the font/s I need either do not exist, have a price tag, or are not allowed for commercial use.
I don't always make something, but when I do, I never fini

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#388 Post by nyaatrap »

I don't know it's possible or not, but in future request:
Allow viewport to scroll without clicking scrollbar.

In ideal, when I'm pressing the arrow down key with keyboard or gamepad, it also scrolls to the bottom items that not shown within a current viewport area.

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#389 Post by jack_norton »

I think that would be best solved by adding key bindings to buttons actions. Something like:

Code: Select all

    button:
        action SetVariable("foo",True) key ["i","pad_y_press"]
so you could customize the game completely yourself, since it would be hard to come up with a solution that works with every case, and it's less work for Pytom :)
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#390 Post by nyaatrap »

Oh thanks, that should work.
However, I don't know to how to make this operation instinctive for every users without any explanation.
Maybe I'll try some test.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users