Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#226 Post by nyaatrap »

On the next game, I'm using into+loop files to make looping music. code is like:

Code: Select all

        renpy.music.play(file+"_intro","music", loop=False)
        renpy.music.queue(file+"_loop","music", loop=True)
It works perfectly, But I think it can be done with one file and one line. It'd be nice if ren'py has function to loop music cutting intro parts.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#227 Post by PyTom »

I think the current way to do this is:

Code: Select all

play music "foo_intro.png"
queue music "foo_loop.png"
You could also use your code, and put it in a function.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#228 Post by jack_norton »

One thing I discovered, not sure if is a bug or is intended. The default command doesn't work if is on a "subscreen" (a screen called by a use statement).
So for example:

Code: Select all

screen screenA:
use screenB
screen screenB:
default txt="hello"
text txt
txt is empty, instead if you use

Code: Select all

screen screenA:
default txt="hello"
use screenB
screen screenB:
text txt
it works. In practice the default needs to be in the "parent screen", the one calling the other with the use statement.
Just thought to point it out :)
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
Sslaxx
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:35 pm
Deviantart: sslaxx
Github: Sslaxx
Skype: Sslaxx
Location: Malvern, UK
Discord: Sslaxx#0159
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#229 Post by Sslaxx »

PyTom wrote:I think the current way to do this is:

Code: Select all

play music "foo_intro.png"
queue music "foo_loop.png"
You could also use your code, and put it in a function.
Well, quite aside from trying to play PNGs, wouldn't that code never reach the second piece of music, because the first hasn't been told to not loop?
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#230 Post by PyTom »

No.

When you queue something, Ren'Py stops the current loop and replaces it with a new loop.

One thing about Ren'Py is that commands like stop music and hide (image) are rarely necessary, as the things like play music and show (image) replace the current music or image.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

qsvgxn
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#231 Post by qsvgxn »

another av gripe:

Videos don't loop properly. There is a very noticeable jitter each time the video loads again to reloop.

For example if I wanted this video (http://www.mediafire.com/download/lvj45 ... /video.mkv) to be the background of some cutscene I would just say

Code: Select all

show movie behind [list of characters]
player movie  video.mkv" loop
Yet it distractingly jitters in the background each time the animation completes a loop, like it freezes for a split second on either the first or last frame of the video. Same thing happens even without anything on screen and simply calling a cutscene like

Code: Select all

renpy.movie_cutscene("video.mkv", loops=-1)
If I play the video with

Code: Select all

ffplay video.mkv -loop 0
it will loop perfectly with absolutely no jittering as if it was a a video file with infinite length. So maybe this is an SDL problem?

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#232 Post by nyaatrap »

I don't know where to put it, so i'd write it here.

I noticed renpy.transition works with say statements synchronously. for example:

Code: Select all

"message"
$renpy.transition(dissolve, layer="master")
show sprite
extend "message2"
This code doesn't hide messages. so I started using this instead of renpy.with_statement on some of dialogues.
But I got one problem: If I apply this function on a layer with transparency, like screens, then it shows complete black instead of transparent pixels.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#233 Post by PyTom »

To preserve transparency, you want to use Dissolve(0.5, alpha=True) rather than regular dissolve.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#234 Post by nyaatrap »

Oh Thanks, I didn't notice this property. Now I can control transitions freely.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#235 Post by nyaatrap »

Hello again :3
Can we have key repeat function also on joystick?

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#236 Post by PyTom »

I don't think the underlying libraries support joystick repeat. So not anytime soon.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#237 Post by nyaatrap »

oh that's sad but ok.

another topic - I made custom show code like this:

Code: Select all

def myshow(name, at_list=[], layer='master', what=None, zorder=0, tag=None, behind=None):
        renpy.transition(Dissolve(.3),layer)
        renpy.show(name, at_list, layer, what, zorder, tag, behind)
config.show = myshow
But it said "atl" is not given. So I added atl=None then it works perfectly. But I wonder atl=None is proper argument of show statement? I think the document lacks this argument.

[edit] and it'll nice if renpy.with_statement also has "layer" argument like renpy.transition has.

User avatar
xavimat
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1460
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:45 pm
Completed: Yeshua, Jesus Life, Cops&Robbers
Projects: Fear&Love, unknown
Organization: Pilgrim Creations
Github: xavi-mat
itch: pilgrimcreations
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#238 Post by xavimat »

I can't use non-ASCII characters in the # TODO lines. The "Navigate Script > TODOs" fails.
Comunidad Ren'Py en español: ¡Únete a nuestro Discord!
Rhaier Kingdom A Ren'Py Multiplayer Adventure Visual Novel.
Cops&Robbers A two-player experiment | Fear&Love Why can't we say I love you?
Honest Critique (Avatar made with Chibi Maker by ~gen8)

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#239 Post by nyaatrap »

Is it possible to add new keymaps, mouse wheel left and mouse wheel right?

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#240 Post by PyTom »

No. Those aren't supported by SDL 1.2.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users