Ren'Py Gripes

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Message
Author
User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#256 Post by PyTom » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:46 am

You can't really have that.

The problem is that the transition would run before any code in label start - including any of the scene or show statements. You'd wind up transitioning from the main menu to a black screen, or else the hash-mark pattern. This is very unlikely to be what people want.

Use:

Code: Select all

label start:
    show bg space
    show eileen spacesuit happy
    with dissolve
instead.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#257 Post by jack_norton » Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:18 am

I was wondering, if there's any plan to make the two Editra plug-ins Codebrowser and Launch available for Ren'Py too? I think they would help a lot the productivity (being able to browse the labels/classes on the left would be a dream).
I wouldn't mind donating to Editra author to have those functions added :) since they work for normal python coding I suppose shouldn't be much work for him to support Ren'Py too ?
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
Greeny
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 921
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:15 am
Completed: The Loop, The Madness
Projects: In Orbit, TBA
Organization: Gliese Productions
Location: Cantankerous Castle
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#258 Post by Greeny » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:01 am

Not so much a gripe as a dream feature I've been wishing for for a long time, but would it be at all feasible to have a "Check Script" that checks all possible routes (for menus) rather than the entire script?

Basically what I mean is a way to check what the resulting wordcount and variable values are for each possible combination of menu choices in a playthrough.
In Orbit [WIP] | Gliese is now doing weekly erratic VN reviews! The latest: Halloween Otome!
Gliese Productions | Facebook | Twitter
Image

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#259 Post by PyTom » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:07 pm

That would be a very hard feature to implement in the general case. The number of paths can grow very large very quick. If you have 10 menus in a playthrough, each with 2 choices, that's 1024 paths.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#260 Post by jack_norton » Fri May 09, 2014 9:48 am

This is not a gripe, but more like a suggestion/feature request :)
Would be cool if was possible to use... (not sure if is the right term) preprocessing code? in practice what I'd like to do is being able to compile the script differently with parameters.
The mos obvious example is the config.developer = True. Useful when you debug/test, but every time I build a new distribution I need to remember to set it to false. Would be better if was possible to write some pseudo code like:
if renpy.build:
config.developer=False

something like that, hopes makes sense :D
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#261 Post by Asceai » Fri May 09, 2014 10:09 am

jack_norton wrote:This is not a gripe, but more like a suggestion/feature request :)
Would be cool if was possible to use... (not sure if is the right term) preprocessing code? in practice what I'd like to do is being able to compile the script differently with parameters.
The mos obvious example is the config.developer = True. Useful when you debug/test, but every time I build a new distribution I need to remember to set it to false. Would be better if was possible to write some pseudo code like:
if renpy.build:
config.developer=False

something like that, hopes makes sense :D
Create an .rpy file (e.g. developer.rpy) like:

Code: Select all

init -1 python hide:
    config.developer = True
Exclude it from distribution.

Code: Select all

build.classify('game/developer.rpy', None)
build.classify('game/developer.rpyc', None)

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#262 Post by jack_norton » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:52 am

Sorry just saw your reply now! Was busy :) Well that is not exactly what I needed, but yes could work, thanks!
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
FamuFamu
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#263 Post by FamuFamu » Sun Jul 27, 2014 6:03 pm

There's something that's been bothering me with Ren'Py for a while now, a game's performance drops significantly when playing windowed.

There's no problem when playing in fullscreen, every trasition shows properly, the colors and fonts look crisp and there's no drop in the framerate. But playing in windowed mode makes the game change slightly how it looks (Granted, I noticed it when trying to achieve a pixellated look, but still), some transitions seem to be skipped altogether and the game suffers from major slowdowns.

I can't think of an alternative because the alternative is already playing in fullscreen, but I thought I should make note of it.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#264 Post by PyTom » Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:37 pm

If your screen is small enough Ren'Py has to scale everything down, that could lead to a performance problem like this. Scaling down requires sampling 4 texels per pixel.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#265 Post by jack_norton » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:40 am

An user on Steam suggested:
I find it really strange that there is no pause / go to options buttons with the XBOX gamepad. Could this be added? And also, propagate your other games? =P
I think is a good idea, maybe using the start/select button by default to show up the options ? :)
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

Maeriden
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#266 Post by Maeriden » Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:04 am

This was observed only on Arch Linux.

By default, when Editra is the selected text editor, opening game files from the launcher fails, with the error suggesting it may be because wxPython is not installed.
However it seems this happens because the python script "renpy_root/editra/Editra/editra" is launched by "#!/usr/bin/env python", but on Arch Linux python is a symlink to python3, while the script is written in python2.
Changing the command to "#!/usr/bin/env python2" makes it work.

Would it be possible to make this small change in the editra scripts? Or does it break other distros?

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#267 Post by PyTom » Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:51 am

Maeriden, I've made the change.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4036
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#268 Post by jack_norton » Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:55 am

I've a minor gripe, if is too much ignore it.
Whenever I update, I lose the preferences of editra (file is overwritten). Is possible to not do that? I have setup shortcuts like CTRL+Q to comment like in the good old SCiTe :)
follow me on Image Image Image Image
computer games

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#269 Post by nyaatrap » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:56 am

Really minor thing. Can I get "Prerelease" version of ren'py even if I chosen "Nightly" on the launcher?
Currently, prerelease and nightly are separated, so I need to change the update channel to prerelease from nightly when prerelease is newer than nightly.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15476
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

#270 Post by PyTom » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:17 pm

jack>>> I can't figure out why it's being overwritten. It shouldn't be.

nyaatrap>>> That should only be the case for 24-48 hours, until the next nightly build happens. It would be kind of a pain to switch from nightly to prerelease to nightly, as the updates go to different virtual hosts.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users