A question about introduction and perspective

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Raxar
Completed: n/a

A question about introduction and perspective

#1 Post by Raxar »

A n00b having two question here, esp because I'm pretty confused by it :wink:
but before that, I'm sorry if this thread is a re-post of another thread :oops:

1.Introduction(Starting Point)
What, in your opinion, a good introduction in VN, is it start with a monologue of the M.C.(Main Character)? talking about himself, like "My name is Alex, I'm 16, I used to be a student, but now I'm dropped out and working labor, and living an average life now."

Or, the profile of the M.C. is being told by his friend, so at first, you don't know anything about this character, but by continuing the game, slowly you got to know the M.C.(this usually happen at the start, like when there's a friend, they called the M.C by his name, and that is the time we know the M.C.'s name).

The other way is do not give any introduction, we start the game in the middle of something, the M.C. have no name(imagine the story goes like the_question in renpy).
which one do you think is the good one? You could give your own opinion if what I said above is not good for you :)

2.Perspective
Um, it's like a pretty stupid question, but I'll still ask it :oops:
If, you made the M.C is awake from sleep, what is the perspective of the Background(BG) that is usually used?

is it like this(credit of picture goes to the uploader) or the perspective is from the bed, so there is no bed in the picture, there's a door and the surrounding of room?(The other way to give the second perspective is that we treat the bed as our roommate's bed).