Using CC license music for free VN?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Kokoro Hane
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: 30 Kilowatt Hours Left, The Only One Girl { First Quarter }, An Encounter ~In The Rain~, A Piece of Sweetness, Since When Did I Have a Combat Butler?!, Piece by Piece, +many more
Projects: Fateful Encounter, Operation: Magic Hero
Organization: Tofu Sheets Visual
Deviantart: kokoro-hane
itch: tofu-sheets-visual

Using CC license music for free VN?

#1 Post by Kokoro Hane »

Hello!

Through the forums here, I discovered the wonderful site Jamendo that has music under the Creative Commons license. Anyway... for the most part, it seems I am free to use it as long as I credit them. Many of the ones I like under the CC license does not want it for commercial use. Now the visual novel I plan to make will be distributed FOR FREE. I mean, even if I burn it to disc for the artist alley of an anime con, I plan to just GIVE THEM AWAY, not at all charging for the work ('cause I know everybody loves free stuff). Already the sprites and backgrounds I am using are many of the free-to-use stuff that I discovered here, and is allowed as long as it's 'non-commercial'. Anyway, since you guys are more experienced, and I have yet to release a VN to the public, I was wandering if my VN falls under non-commercial, since it'll be distributed for free, whether by download here, or even on a burnt disc (since I'd be just handing 'em out or say 'take one').

Anyway, thankies! I just wanna know so I don't get in trouble by not knowing the rules, or terms of the license.

droopy
Projects: things just for fun

Re: Using CC license music for free VN?

#2 Post by droopy »