You have a game - now what?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Takanashi
Regular

You have a game - now what?

#1 Post by Takanashi »

Please, ignore the horrible title.

I've searched Lemma for a thread touching this particular subject, but my search was fruitless, so I decided to create my own.
This might be due to obviously, not existing or that I have a complete inability on using the search function. I apologize if it is the latter.
Since I’m an admittedly complete newbie to this particular subject, and I’m sure there is a lot of people that could use this kind of information for guidance, I’m here asking to anyone that wants to share is thoughts and know-how to contribute on this thread.

So what are my questions anyway?

Where do you advertise your game?
On a personal level, I’ve only advertised my game here on Lemma, so I’m not surprised of having very low daily hits on my website for example, but still, it’s pretty disheartening finding that I can’t even reach the 20 Like mark on Facebook after some months :(
I think I’ve only now started to realize how a complete slob regarding this subject I’ve been.

So, the bottom line is, how can I advertise a game? How can I make people more aware to the existence of a game?
As for advertising finished products, I’ve seen a site like http://www.indiedb.com/ for example. Is there anyone that has used this kind of website before? Are there any similar sites to this one? And selling on them directly is a good/bad idea?
Are there any other type of good sites like portals, or VN databases where you can add them?

Thanks for reading, if you have any input to give, even the smallest that it might be, feel free to share it.

papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games