Seeing your character, or not?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Lumen

Seeing your character, or not?

#1 Post by Lumen »

I’m completely new to VN and Dating Sims, and I find that this inexperience is almost stopping me before I have begun; I seem to hit a wall, when I think about story ideas, or more specifically: how to go about the story. My main problem is the first person point of view: how it is done properly, and what can I show of the main character/the player.
I’ve understood, that usually in these games the player’s character is not shown. I’ve played games that either do not show the character(and give us no info about how they look), or they show the character completely. I’ve heard that the standard and more popular approach is to not show the character at all, hiding their face even in the “event picture.” I personally would like to show my character clearly- in the event pictures- but I’m not sure if that’s the choice people will like?

Even if I chose to not show the main character in any way, there are still scenes where that is very tricky, for example: let’s say that a game character sits beside you, and I want the player to see this, not just read it: it’s tricky to do without doing an event picture that will show the player’s character.

I’m sorry if all this seems like a stupid question…I’d just be grateful to hear from your experience, what is the best(and possible) choice to make.

avocado

Re: Seeing your character, or not?

#2 Post by avocado »

Lumen wrote: I’ve heard that the standard and more popular approach is to not show the character at all, hiding their face even in the “event picture.”
Well, that depends. In a lot of commercial, Japanese otome games you don't really see the protagonist very much and if you do, they almost rarely show her eyes.