Where to start?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Tom Bombadil
Regular

Where to start?

#1 Post by Tom Bombadil »

Stupid site ate my post :evil:
^_^;;
Anyway, I have very little programming experience, and would like to try to make a ren'ai game sometime. Can anyone recommend me a good engine/language/program to use? I've done a bit with the OHRRPGCE (but not with plotscripting; the program never works for me >_<), a tad with HTML, and a healthy bit of Visual Basic (but I lost the book :cry: ) I was actually considering trying Klik & Play, for which I never found a use....any thoughts?

And while you're here, what other good English ren'ai can I get for free besides ToL? (which rules BTW \m/ >_< \m/) Anybody here have something I can download?

Thanks for your help! ^_^
Meh, I don't feel like coming up with a sig right now....^_^;;

Sai
Winged Hybrid

#2 Post by Sai »

Hiya!

Well I think all programming languages need a bit of patience. But I found Director to be OK. I have to study it anyway on my course.
Director isn't very common (why on earth I need to learn it regardless, don't ask me) though so I suggest it's semi-clone Flash (they use different scripting languages, Director being Lingo, and Flash being Action Script, but seem prett similar otherwise >_>; )
Because it's object based or whatever you'd say (as in it's like youre controlling actors on a stage which is easier to handle and think about) it's simpler in my opinion.

The main thing for a dating sim in Flash is variables!
A variable in it's basic form is:
When something happens do this
otherwise
do that

By learning that you can set up different paths which is something crucial to visual novels it seems

A scene in Director would probably go like this in English
Girl A appears before you, she seems happy and starts talking to you