Rating System for VN's?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Lone Maestro

Rating System for VN's?

#1 Post by Lone Maestro »

So I'm new to LSF and Renpai, and one of the greatest difficulties in selecting a game to play (from renai.us) is... well, selecting. So I just wanted set forth the idea of having a rating system for each game? (I don't know, 1-10? A-C?) Or, maybe a guarantee that each game made is to be rated?

I'm sure that every game offers a different experience, and they shouldn't be generalized in any way, but I thought a rating system could be a measure of the percentage of audience who would be likely to really enjoy the game.

So maybe the better-made games would have their names easily accessible to newbies (like me). And the games that aren't that popular would at least get some attention, in the form of having it rated. Because right now, I have to dig through specific forums topics to even see the name of the allegedly "best" VN's. (Adrift, Alistair(sp?), Moonlight)

As for who's doing the rating, I'm divided over the general audience, or the veteran players/makers with 90% of the wisdom here...

Thanks for hearing me out.

Ziassan
Veteran

Re: Rating System for VN's?

#2 Post by Ziassan »

While it's true that rating always have these bad sides... some system like http://vndb.org would be helpful (with tag etc., and they try to make a difference between popularity and rating)
Actually there isn't really any good way to search through all the OELVN made, yeah, and it's something that lacks. But not that easy to handle I guess.
Last edited by Ziassan on Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dim Sum
Regular

#3 Post by Dim Sum »