Getting Started

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Me_Me_Friggin_Me

Getting Started

#1 Post by Me_Me_Friggin_Me »

What is a good easy program I could use to get the gist of making a game? I have some backgrounds and such, and I just want to try to master the learning curb of making a Ren Ai game. What program should I use?

Sai
Winged Hybrid

#2 Post by Sai »

Try RenPy
http://www.lemmasoft.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=105

My friend did a quick little pice with RenPy the other day that including a background, character image and some dialogue with 1 option point (yes or no question). He did it in under 5 minutes using RenPy apparently and that included thinking up the dialogue (random test dialogue) and getting the image sizes right....
So should be a good place to start although I haven't tried it myself

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

#3 Post by PyTom »

I'm thinking of cutting a new release of Ren'Py in a day or two. It'll be reasonably complete insofar as gameplay is concerned, but won't support loading or saving. (At least, not with a user interface.) So you may want to wait for that.

In the meantime, everyone may want to check out the draft of the Ren'Py tutorial, at:

http://www.bishoujo.us/renpy/tutorial.html

I'd appreciate comments on the tutorial, good or bad. Either post it here, or email it to tom at bishoujo.us

Alessio
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: GO! Magical Boy (2006), Angelic Orbs (soundtrack)
Projects: Cyberlin (in progress)

#4 Post by Alessio »

Hi Tom,